Portals eNewsletters Web Seminars dataWarehouse.com DM Review Magazine
DM Review | Covering Business Intelligence, Integration & Analytics
   Covering Business Intelligence, Integration & Analytics Advanced Search
advertisement

RESOURCE PORTALS
View all Portals

WEB SEMINARS
Scheduled Events

RESEARCH VAULT
White Paper Library
Research Papers

CAREERZONE
View Job Listings
Post a job

Advertisement

INFORMATION CENTER
DM Review Home
Newsletters
Current Magazine Issue
Magazine Archives
Online Columnists
Ask the Experts
Industry News
Search DM Review

GENERAL RESOURCES
Bookstore
Buyer's Guide
Glossary
Industry Events Calendar
Monthly Product Guides
Software Demo Lab
Vendor Listings

DM REVIEW
About Us
Press Releases
Awards
Advertising/Media Kit
Reprints
Magazine Subscriptions
Editorial Calendar
Contact Us
Customer Service

Author Index

Clay Rehm
Clay Rehm, CCP, PMP, is president of Rehm Technology (www.rehmtech.com), a consulting firm specializing in data integration solutions. Rehm provides hands-on expertise in project management, assessments, methodologies, data modeling, database design, meta data and systems analysis, design and development. He has worked in multiple platforms and his experience spans operational and data warehouse environments. Rehm is a technical book editor and is a coauthor of the book Impossible Data Warehouse Situations with Solutions from the Experts. In addition, he is a Certified Computing Professional (CCP), a certified Project Management Professional (PMP), holds a Bachelors of Science degree in Computer Science from Carroll College and is currently working on his Masters degree in Software Engineering. He can be reached at clay.rehm@rehmtech.com.

RELATED ARTICLESOther DM Review Content from this Author

Can you help me with some resources to prepare a standard approach for requirements definition and analysis for BI projects?
Ask The Experts published on June 2006 in DM Review Online

Why can't you experts agree on terminology?
Ask The Experts published on June 2006 in DM Review Online

Should the size of a company affect the need for a decision support system, a data warehouse, and an expert system to improve its sales figures and profitability?
Ask The Experts published on June 2006 in DM Review Online

Do you feel that knowledge made available through the use of data warehouses should be disseminated to all employees in the organization?
Ask The Experts published on May 2006 in DM Review Online

Please provide a role-description for a generic power user and his business counterpart.
Ask The Experts published on May 2006 in DM Review Online

When modeling a new data warehouse, Do I put each hierarchy into one table, or do I break each hierarchy into separate tables?
Ask The Experts published on May 2006 in DM Review Online

Should we load null values into the data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on May 2006 in DM Review Online

Ask the Experts
Article published on April 2006 in DM Direct

After almost completing the first iteration of our data warehouse base facts and dimensions, is it reasonable to convert to an ETL tool instead of using templates to assure consistency and accuracy?
Ask The Experts published on March 2006 in DM Review Online

How would you generate a report that shows non-events in a fact table?
Ask The Experts published on February 2006 in DM Review Online

Please help explain the 1) urgency of need and 2) elimination of risk for building a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on January 2006 in DM Review Online

What roadmap should I use for an insurance system data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on January 2006 in DM Review Online

What is the relevance of a work breakdown structure in a data warehouse project?
Ask The Experts published on January 2006 in DM Review Online

Are there any articles or white papers regarding the definition of reporting?
Ask The Experts published on July 2005 in DM Review Online

One of our customers outsourced their data warehouse. Now they want to bring it back in house. What all factors should be considered and what are the risks?
Ask The Experts published on July 2005 in DM Review Online

Can we implement data marts without implementing a data warehouse? What is the difference between data warehousing and data marts?
Ask The Experts published on July 2005 in DM Review Online

I am interested in roles/responsibilities, reporting structure, development vs. run model support of a successful data warehousing organization.
Ask The Experts published on July 2005 in DM Review Online

Which set of skills would be more pertinent for a data quality and support team leader, a technical skill or a business related skill?
Ask The Experts published on June 2005 in DM Review Online

How do you justify the benefits of the data quality to small businesses, given that larger companies don't really want to know about the quality of their data?
Ask The Experts published on June 2005 in DM Review Online

How could I train to be a good data warehouse business analyst?
Ask The Experts published on June 2005 in DM Review Online

Would you advise creating a junk dimension for a single flag? Also, when is it a good idea to create a junk dimension table?
Ask The Experts published on May 2005 in DM Review Online

What are some of the concerns we should be aware of in integrated planning?
Ask The Experts published on May 2005 in DM Review Online

Do you know of any studies that are available on current best practices concerning data architecture methodologies and approaches?
Ask The Experts published on March 2005 in DM Review Online

We are building a data warehouse with many source systems that provide data feeds.
Ask The Experts published on February 2005 in DM Review Online

Can you point me in the direction of any white papers comparing the pros and cons of selecting a BI tool?
Ask The Experts published on February 2005 in DM Review Online

Is it legitimate to capitalize our data warehouse instead of expensing it?
Ask The Experts published on February 2005 in DM Review Online

What recommendations do you have for a training program fro 500-700 end users?
Ask The Experts published on February 2005 in DM Review Online

Since hardware is relatively inexpensive, does my company have to worry about performance?
Ask The Experts published on February 2005 in DM Review Online

Can agile development methodologies apply to BI projects and if so what are the main pitfalls to watch out for in using such techniques?
Ask The Experts published on December 2004 in DM Review Online

We are in the beginning stages of reengineering our enterprise.
Ask The Experts published on December 2004 in DM Review Online

We are migrating from one data warehouse to a new one.
Ask The Experts published on December 2004 in DM Review Online

In an EDW architecture where data is consolidated and stored into a corporate data marts, how does the notion of conformed dimensions fit it?
Ask The Experts published on December 2004 in DM Review Online

We are extracting data from a legacy system that has summary data in it that we will need in the DW, should we re-derive these counts as functions of ETL to ensure accuracy?
Ask The Experts published on November 2004 in DM Review Online

How do 3NF and 1NF compare and contrast in VLDB? What advantage does the 3NF design have for a VLDB?
Ask The Experts published on October 2004 in DM Review Online

Would you interview top executives separately or as a group for the collection of business requirements via interviews?
Ask The Experts published on October 2004 in DM Review Online

Are there any best practices around how to keep enhancement data for marketing campaigns?
Ask The Experts published on October 2004 in DM Review Online

We about to establish a new IT section, using Oracle9i with a UNIX operating system.
Ask The Experts published on September 2004 in DM Review Online

We are in the planning stages of implementing a managed data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on September 2004 in DM Review Online

We have a data consolidation system which takes transactions from multiple systems and consolidate and enriches it with contextual information and publishes the same to the downstream consumer systems.
Ask The Experts published on September 2004 in DM Review Online

How do you think RFID will affect the data warehousing space?
Ask The Experts published on September 2004 in DM Review Online

We want to build a management information center to manage the enterprise data warehouse (EDW) which will include business requirement management, statistical reporting, data standards and EDW management.
Ask The Experts published on August 2004 in DM Review Online

I recently joined the company as a DW data modeler in the production support group.
Ask The Experts published on August 2004 in DM Review Online

I have several years in QA and testing of software and am now working on my first data warehouse assignment.
Ask The Experts published on August 2004 in DM Review Online

I'm being asked to add a "deprecator" indicator to my code tables to indicate when a valid value is no longer used.
Ask The Experts published on July 2004 in DM Review Online

I am looking for information on evaluating the success or failure of a data warehouse after implementation from a business point of view.
Ask The Experts published on July 2004 in DM Review Online

For an aggregated fact table which requires its data to be dimensioned by gender and age (in years), is there any benefit in creating these as dimensions at all even if it may help in cross fact analysis or not to bother as the gender and age values would be the same as the dimensional key values (i.e., age_key 16 for 16-year-olds)?
Ask The Experts published on July 2004 in DM Review Online

It has been suggested that we can skip user acceptance testing of the Dimension tables in order to speed up implementation.
Ask The Experts published on July 2004 in DM Review Online

I am currently responsible for a large MOLAP environment with lots of users and I am now responsible for taking over a large relational data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on June 2004 in DM Review Online

I am working on structuring a data system for a German bank that needs a data warehouse that will allow access by different departments in the bank.
Ask The Experts published on June 2004 in DM Review Online

Have you ever seen UML Use Cases used as a mechanism of modeling a data warehouse functionality? Currently the DW is modeled using dimensional modeling techniques.
Ask The Experts published on June 2004 in DM Review Online

Any time I get to a data related project I have a choice of ETL tool vs.homegrown solution.
Ask The Experts published on June 2004 in DM Review Online

It's always scary to trot out one's core beliefs in front of the pros, but I need to hear your constructive criticism.
Ask The Experts published on June 2004 in DM Review Online

I've recently hired on to administer and manage a previously designed data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on May 2004 in DM Review Online

What factors should an organization consider when determining how often to "refresh" (update) its data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on May 2004 in DM Review Online

Can you tell me how to distinguish reporting that is done from an OLTP system vs. reporting that is done from an ODS?
Ask The Experts published on May 2004 in DM Review Online

I will be extracting data from SAPR/3 and flat files and loading into my SAP-BW system.
Ask The Experts published on April 2004 in DM Review Online

I have come across two approaches/practices in building data warehouses.
Ask The Experts published on April 2004 in DM Review Online

I have a question on best practices to be used in designing a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on April 2004 in DM Review Online

I am preparing a document for effort estimation for data warehousing projects.
Ask The Experts published on April 2004 in DM Review Online

I am familiar with data modeling, but now I?m being asked to reengineer or build new applications running on my databases and data warehouses.
Ask The Experts published on March 2004 in DM Review Online

I am looking for definitions of business and executive sponsors as this functions retain to an information warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on March 2004 in DM Review Online

We can have a staging area between extract and transform or we can have staging area between transform and load.
Ask The Experts published on March 2004 in DM Review Online

How do you handle the dimension key in a fact table when a row in the fact table does not relate to one of the dimension tables?
Ask The Experts published on March 2004 in DM Review Online

I have to write a paper about problems with data warehouse implementation especially the initiation phase.
Ask The Experts published on February 2004 in DM Review Online

I am a DBA, new to data warehouse concepts and would appreciate if you could reply to my questions concerning issues of architecture as I prepare to implement a one terabyte warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on February 2004 in DM Review Online

I am working with a client that is currently enforcing a standard that does not allow direct query access to data mart dimensions and fact tables.
Ask The Experts published on February 2004 in DM Review Online

I have been given a task to develop a data warehouse/star schema for a leasing/mortgage business.
Ask The Experts published on February 2004 in DM Review Online

We have six offices worldwide where Clarify is being used.
Ask The Experts published on January 2004 in DM Review Online

We are in the process of evaluating several EBIS (enterprise business intelligence solutions).
Ask The Experts published on January 2004 in DM Review Online

What would be considered data management best practices?
Ask The Experts published on January 2004 in DM Review Online

What is the third normal form of bookSBN, bookTitle, FirstAuthor, Publisher, PubStreet, PupCity, PubContact,Pages, Price?
Ask The Experts published on January 2004 in DM Review Online

What are the major risk factors in a data warehouse project implementation?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

When should I use a bitmappped index?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

What are the responsibilities of a data warehouse project manager?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

Should I use a work breakdown structure in a data warehouse project?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

Can a single data staging area serve two masters, operational (ODS) and analytic (data warehouse)?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

I'm trying to persuade management on the importance of meta data.
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

I have a client that has a data warehouse with Sun servers, Hitachi storage and an Oracle database.
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

What is a degenerate dimension and how is it used
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

Is there any methodology to design and implement a data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on November 2003 in DM Review Online

I am working in the marketing department of an Iranian steel manufacturing company.
Ask The Experts published on November 2003 in DM Review Online

What are the various phases in implementing a data warehouse solution?
Ask The Experts published on November 2003 in DM Review Online

How does one go about implementing a data warehouse for banks?
Ask The Experts published on November 2003 in DM Review Online

What are the pros and cons of horizontal database partitioning and please focus on the scenario when the database is part of a package (e.g., Siebel) which contains meta data.
Ask The Experts published on November 2003 in DM Review Online

I am a Ph.D student in engineering management at the George Washington University.
Ask The Experts published on November 2003 in DM Review Online

My question is in the realm of operational reporting.
Ask The Experts published on October 2003 in DM Review Online

Is a data mart defined by its size or is it defined by the specific business process it supports?
Ask The Experts published on October 2003 in DM Review Online

How should I consider the integration of business intelligence systems and business performance management and what are the best ways to analyze these types of systems?
Ask The Experts published on October 2003 in DM Review Online

I?m not sure if I?m going in the right direction with my data warehouse, data marts, cubes and business intelligence development.
Ask The Experts published on October 2003 in DM Review Online

Can you suggest good material such as books, research papers and Web resources that can be a guide for writing professional grade data warehouse business requirements?
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

I'm a JAVA developer involved in developing a data warehouse project.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

We are currently looking for a best-in-class, pure Web-based BI tool for reporting, ad hoc and analysis needs.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

What is the best RDBMS (Teradata, Oracle or DB2) for data warehousing based on performance and size?
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

What is the difference between the terms "business intelligence" and "data warehousing?"
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

If a piece of information traverses several applications before placement in the DW is the data quality of that information more in question than data that arrives directly from the operational source?
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

If a given DW field/element/column can be updated from several operational sources, it would seem that the risk of erroneous data is heightened.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

I am currently managing the feasibility study phase of a data warehousing project.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

In the insurance industry there are a lot of calculations that could be performed on the premium amounts.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

My group has the responsibility for defining the business requirements for front-end (customer interface) and back-end (processing) operations for a banking operation.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

I would like to know about star schemas with multiple fact tables.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

I read about versioning of meta data.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

Are there any articles, books, or papers on maintenance issues for data warehousing systems?
Ask The Experts published on June 2003 in DM Review Online

Which are the ETL tools that are generally recommended to be used with MicroStrategy?
Ask The Experts published on June 2003 in DM Review Online

If someone were to venture into the BI world, what would be a logical starting place?
Ask The Experts published on June 2003 in DM Review Online

We are planning a multinational data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on June 2003 in DM Review Online

I have been told to identify all objects relating to a customer in a data warehouse and a data mart.
Ask The Experts published on May 2003 in DM Review Online

Are there any industry standards or best practices on how to handle vendor solutions specifically pertaining to conforming to information architecture standards.
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

We met with one of the BI vendors to discuss query and reporting and multidimensional reporting.
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

I'm in charge of our data warehouse and one of my colleagues suggested we look into purchasing a job scheduler to handle file transfers, job dependencies, etc.
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

Please give me a definition of an enterprise-wide solution.
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

What kind of software can be used in a customer alert system?
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

What is a DOLAP?
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

I have trouble selling the data warehouse to management.
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

I'm a data warehouse project manager.
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

Are there any Web sites or institutions that give the pros and cons for each BI tool? And are there any selection criteria?
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

I am currently involved with a start-up for-profit graduate and undergraduate educational project.
Ask The Experts published on February 2003 in DM Review Online

We are involved with a DW strategy and planning a CRM strategy.
Ask The Experts published on February 2003 in DM Review Online

My customer information is spread over multiple systems on different platforms.
Ask The Experts published on February 2003 in DM Review Online

I am new to data warehousing.
Ask The Experts published on February 2003 in DM Review Online

We are trying to create a policy on information reporting that would identify the types of reports that should come from our DW vs. those that should come from our operational systems.
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

How do I get project managers (business side/end users) to take ownership in a data warehousing initiative?
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

The role of a business analyst for a data warehouse project is often conflicting and confusing.
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

I am currently a student at college. We have an assignment to do on CRM.
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

As part of a corporate-wide, one-instance implementation of ERP (SAP R/3) we are rethinking master data maintenance and data quality.
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

We are working with a data warehouse project where we extract data from the source (ETL) and create fact tables and dimensions depending on them.
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

We would like to create a corporate information management policy that will underpin future BI and data quality efforts and act as a executive-level
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

We are (were) primarily a mainframe shop that has, in the past couple of years, moved first to Oracle and most recently to SQL Server databases.
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

What is the industry standard benchmark for data warehouse customer usage?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

When it comes to the design technology of enterprise data warehouse (EDW), some people are insisting we use Inmon's approach of top-down methodology.
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

Can we and should we adopt different data modeling schemas during the extraction, transformation and staging method?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

If there are 10 data marts which use different schemas (some use star and the others use snowflake), will inconsistencies arise designing a data warehouse using a bottom up approach?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

Assuming that the applications and databases are on separate machines, what is the current thinking on where the data warehouse database should reside?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

Do you suggest surrogate keys in data marts and/or EDW solutions?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

It seems that there is very little academic research done in the data warehouse area in spite of the need for this by the business community.
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

I want to know how to estimate the total project cost to implement a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

I am providing information for a proof of concept (my first time) on an ETL tool for a major data conversion project.
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

What kind of tools can you recommend to perform data auditing and quality analysis?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

My company is looking for a BI intelligence suite to integrate with our CRM Web-based solution.
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

I would like to know how to make effort estimations for ETL, query and reporting, and data mining.
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

My duties as a business intelligence analyst are to implement a standard reporting process in the company, develop standards for best practices for reporting (using Oracle tools) and market.
Ask The Experts published on November 2002 in DM Review Online

What strategy do you suggest to update dimensions using flat files as a source that do not have a time stamp?
Ask The Experts published on November 2002 in DM Review Online

We are doing an OLTP project for our client, but they want OLAP capabilities for reporting.
Ask The Experts published on November 2002 in DM Review Online

We are using MicroStrategy7 as our reporting tool against our data warehouse which is DB2 on an IBM OS/390 mainframe.
Ask The Experts published on November 2002 in DM Review Online

My company is currently starting an enterprise data warehouse project with an end result of ultimately feeding all of the back-end systems including our General Ledger system.
Ask The Experts published on November 2002 in DM Review Online

We are in the process of building an insurance data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on November 2002 in DM Review Online

I am building a data mart for a P&C; insurance company.
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

I am trying to prove a business case to demonstrate the quantifiable business benefits of implementing data standards to support our heterogeneous ERP environment.
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

I?m building a DW/DM for an educational institution which has many campuses.
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

My question relates to hardware configuration for DW environments.
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

In a simple star schema design for a data mart, does it matter if the relationships from the dimension tables to the fact tables are indirect relationships rather than direct relationships?
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

Can you tell me where to find a good, comprehensive
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

I have been challenged by a big manufacturing company, which consists of dozens of individual plants (through acquisitions but still function independently with their own data centers and some with their own DW) to build an enterprise data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

Industry standards state that the typical star schema will have about six dimension tables and the associated fact tables depending on grain, etc.
Ask The Experts published on September 2002 in DM Review Online

Are there sample documents on what to test in a data warehouse environment?
Ask The Experts published on August 2002 in DM Review Online

We have Oracle as our RDBMS for all the applications.
Ask The Experts published on July 2002 in DM Review Online

How do I cut my warehouse costs? I need general tips to reduce my warehouse costs.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

One subject area of our DW is about tasks of several projects.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

Data quality is a critical issue affecting data warehouses, (DWs) yet there appears to be no sustainable solution with regard to quality input
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

Is DTS suitable as a sole ETL tool?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

Can you use one database model for OLAP and OLTP?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

As PeopleSoft EPM 8.3 is a recent version and we do not have and history for its use, I would like to know what approach shall we take involving its staging and ODS schema for finance and Human Resources?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

Which tools and database should we select to implement a data warehoue?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

Do you have any suggestions for automated end-to- end testing for a data warehouse implementation?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

My client presently uses ETI Extract and custom-built code for many data migration projects but purchased Informatica and is planning to migrate to Informatica.
Ask The Experts published on April 2002 in DM Review Online

In a data warehouse for the financial or telecom industry, the customers are of two main categories: corporate and retail.
Ask The Experts published on April 2002 in DM Review Online

We can use Excel and ODBC drivers to tap into data in Access, MS-SQL, etc.
Ask The Experts published on April 2002 in DM Review Online

Regarding dimensional modeling vs. OLAP modeling.
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

I am looking for a reporting tool with a simple report development interface.
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

During the first meeting with one of my prospects (a large Italian tire and cable manufacturer) the IT person responsible of the DW in the company told me:
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

I would like to know how best to test the warehouse in ETL if we are not using any tools for ETL (everything has been written in programs)?
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

We are implementing a balanced scorecard (BSC) application and are going to use our existing data warehouse as the source system.
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

I'm not sure if I should balance my data for predictions or decision trees or not: Imagine you have 100 cases (customers).
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

My firm has been asked to perform the feasibility study for a meta data.
Ask The Experts published on June 2001 in DM Review Online

What factors should be considered at different stages of a data warehouse implementation to arrive at a size estimate for a project?
Ask The Experts published on June 2001 in DM Review Online

Does it make a difference in query performance if I write tableA.colx = tableB.colY or the other way round?
Ask The Experts published on June 2001 in DM Review Online

What are the current issues and concerns with gathering requirements for a data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on June 2001 in DM Review Online

Could you recommend any data warehouse management classes?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

Is there a widely recognized certification for data warehouse professionals? If so, what organization issues the certification?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

I have been asked to compare two data warehouse products from Brio and Cognos.
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

During the development of a data warehouse, how far can you progress with the development effort without the identification of an end-user tool?
Ask The Experts published on March 2001 in DM Review Online

In planning a data warehouse, what are the possible disadvantages or advantages of choosing either DB2 or Oracle as the database structure?
Ask The Experts published on March 2001 in DM Review Online

What can?t my operational reports (from my ERP system) offer me what a business intelligence system can?
Ask The Experts published on January 2001 in DM Review Online

We are currently seeking to establish a reporting framework for our organization.
Ask The Experts published on January 2001 in DM Review Online

I am looking for information on MS SQL Server 7.0.
Ask The Experts published on January 2001 in DM Review Online

What is the purpose of designing a logical data model for a data mart or warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on December 2000 in DM Review Online

Should data be changed in the data warehouse and/or data mart making it different from the source system it came from?
Ask The Experts published on December 2000 in DM Review Online

What are the disadvantages of having a data warehouse in place?
Ask The Experts published on December 2000 in DM Review Online

I am very keen to move into the database sector. What are the typical day-to-day tasks of a DBA?
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

I work for a non- profit organization that is just starting to write an RFP for their membership database and redesign of their Web site.
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

An operational data store (ODS) is different from data warehouse, but it is one part of data warehouse. Do you agree?
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

Is it possible to make data model before ERP system implementation and a data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online



Advertisement
advertisement
Site Map Terms of Use Privacy Policy
SourceMedia (c) 2006 DM Review and SourceMedia, Inc. All rights reserved.
SourceMedia is an Investcorp company.
Use, duplication, or sale of this service, or data contained herein, is strictly prohibited.