Portals eNewsletters Web Seminars dataWarehouse.com DM Review Magazine
DM Review | Covering Business Intelligence, Integration & Analytics
   Covering Business Intelligence, Integration & Analytics Advanced Search
advertisement

RESOURCE PORTALS
View all Portals

WEB SEMINARS
Scheduled Events

RESEARCH VAULT
White Paper Library
Research Papers

CAREERZONE
View Job Listings
Post a job

Advertisement

INFORMATION CENTER
DM Review Home
Newsletters
Current Magazine Issue
Magazine Archives
Online Columnists
Ask the Experts
Industry News
Search DM Review

GENERAL RESOURCES
Bookstore
Buyer's Guide
Glossary
Industry Events Calendar
Monthly Product Guides
Software Demo Lab
Vendor Listings

DM REVIEW
About Us
Press Releases
Awards
Advertising/Media Kit
Reprints
Magazine Subscriptions
Editorial Calendar
Contact Us
Customer Service

Author Index

Michael Jennings

Michael Jennings is a recognized expert with more than 20 years of information technology experience and speaks frequently on business intelligence/architecture issues at major industry conferences and has been an instructor at the University of Chicago's Graham School. He is a co-author of the book Universal Meta Data Models and a contributing author of the book Building and Managing the Meta Data Repository. He works for EWSolutions, a GSA schedule and Chicago-headquartered strategic partner and systems integrator dedicated to providing companies and large government agencies with best-in-class business intelligence solutions using data warehousing, enterprise architecture and managed meta data environment technologies (www.EWSolutions.com). He may be reached directly via e-mail at MJennings@EWSolutions.com.



RELATED ARTICLESOther DM Review Content from this Author

Enterprise Architecture View:
Meta Impact, Part 2
Column published on December 2005 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
Meta Impact
Column published on October 2005 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
Fuzzy Data Integration, Part 2
Column published on September 2005 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
Fuzzy Data Integration, Part 1
Column published on August 2005 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
Information Delivery Shortcuts, Part 3
Column published on June 2005 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
Information Delivery Shortcuts, Part 2
Column published on May 2005 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
Information Delivery Shortcuts, Part 1
Column published on April 2005 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
Query Analysis of the Data Warehouse Environment
Column published on March 2005 in DM Review

Enterpise Archtiecture View:
A Systematic Approach to ETL Design
Column published on February 2005 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
Performance Impacts on the Data Warehouse Environment, Part 2
Column published on January 2005 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
Performance Impacts on the Data Warehouse Environment
Column published on December 2004 in DM Review Exclusive Online Content

Enterprise Architecture View:
Final Component of the Complete Meta Data Model
Column published on October 2004 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
Business Rules, Business Meta Data & Data Stewardship Component of the Complete Meta Data Model
Column published on September 2004 in DM Review

I?m intrigued by the OMG's Common Warehouse Metamodel.
Ask The Experts published on August 2004 in DM Review Online

We are beginning a clean-sheet-of-paper architectural strategy for our overall reporting and BI needs.
Ask The Experts published on August 2004 in DM Review Online

Enterprise Architecture View:
Business Rules, Business Meta Data and Data Stewardship Component of the Complete Meta Data Model
Column published on August 2004 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
IT Portfolio Management Component of the Complete Meta Data Model
Column published on July 2004 in DM Review Exclusive Online Content

We talk a lot about ROI on data warehouse, business intelligence, etc.
Ask The Experts published on June 2004 in DM Review Online

Any time I get to a data related project I have a choice of ETL tool vs.homegrown solution.
Ask The Experts published on June 2004 in DM Review Online

Enterprise Architecture View:
The Enterprise Systems Component of the Complete Meta Data Model
Column published on June 2004 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
Interaction of the Complete Meta Data Model
Column published on May 2004 in DM Review

I will be extracting data from SAPR/3 and flat files and loading into my SAP-BW system.
Ask The Experts published on April 2004 in DM Review Online

Enterprise Architecture View:
The Complete Meta Data Repository
Column published on April 2004 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
Information Semantics
Column published on March 2004 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
Multifaceted Data Access in the Data Warehouse, Part 2
Column published on February 2004 in DM Review

We are in the process of evaluating several EBIS (enterprise business intelligence solutions).
Ask The Experts published on January 2004 in DM Review Online

Enterprise Architecture View:
Multifaceted Data Access in the Data Warehouse, Part 1
Column published on January 2004 in DM Review

I'm trying to persuade management on the importance of meta data.
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

Enterprise Architecture View:
Temporal Perspective, Part 2
Column published on December 2003 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
Temporal Perspective
Column published on November 2003 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
To Surrogate or Not
Column published on October 2003 in DM Review Exclusive Online Content

I am currently managing the feasibility study phase of a data warehousing project.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

My group has the responsibility for defining the business requirements for front-end (customer interface) and back-end (processing) operations for a banking operation.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

Enterprise Architecture View:
Business Delivery for Rent, Part 2
Column published on August 2003 in DM Review

Is there a standard that can be used as a guideline for sizing and capacity?
Ask The Experts published on July 2003 in DM Review Online

Enterprise Architecture View:
Business Delivery For Rent
Column published on July 2003 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
What's in Your ETL Method?
Column published on June 2003 in DM Review

How can business systems analyze customer's personalized needs?
Ask The Experts published on May 2003 in DM Review Online

Enterprise Architecture View:
An Information Delivery Framework
Column published on May 2003 in DM Review

We met with one of the BI vendors to discuss query and reporting and multidimensional reporting.
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

I'm in charge of our data warehouse and one of my colleagues suggested we look into purchasing a job scheduler to handle file transfers, job dependencies, etc.
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

Enterprise Architecture View:
The Weakest Link, Part 3
Column published on April 2003 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
The Weakest Link, Part 2
Column published on March 2003 in DM Review

I have a small problem relating to the relationships that exist between a dimension table and a fact table.
Ask The Experts published on February 2003 in DM Review Online

Enterprise Architecture View:
The Weakest Link
Column published on February 2003 in DM Review

We are trying to create a policy on information reporting that would identify the types of reports that should come from our DW vs. those that should come from our operational systems.
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

The role of a business analyst for a data warehouse project is often conflicting and confusing.
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

Is there any possibility of linking the measure of a particular fact to another fact in multiple fact star schema which needs the measure?
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

Enterprise Architecture View:
Fingerprinting Data Warehouse Data
Column published on January 2003 in DM Review

Do you suggest surrogate keys in data marts and/or EDW solutions?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

I am providing information for a proof of concept (my first time) on an ETL tool for a major data conversion project.
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

What strategy do you suggest to update dimensions using flat files as a source that do not have a time stamp?
Ask The Experts published on November 2002 in DM Review Online

We are doing an OLTP project for our client, but they want OLAP capabilities for reporting.
Ask The Experts published on November 2002 in DM Review Online

We have a project that requires us to integrate up to 10 legacy customer-centric databases after a merger to build a customer marketing data mart.
Ask The Experts published on November 2002 in DM Review Online

Enterprise Architecture View:
The Internet Accessible BI Environment, Part 3
Column published on November 2002 in DM Review

Enterprise Architecture View:
The Internet Accessible BI Environment, Part 2
Column published on October 2002 in DM Review

Industry standards state that the typical star schema will have about six dimension tables and the associated fact tables depending on grain, etc.
Ask The Experts published on September 2002 in DM Review Online

I'm now doing a thesis about data mining in e-commerce.
Ask The Experts published on September 2002 in DM Review Online

Enterprise Architecture View:
The Internet Accessible BI Environment, Part 1
Column published on September 2002 in DM Review

Report generation (BI) which searches and retrieves data from very large tables has resulted in slow database response-time and affecting the whole db performance.
Ask The Experts published on August 2002 in DM Review Online

What are the major comparisons or differences between Web mining and data mining?
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

Please explain the architecture of a data warehouse or direct me to books with figures so that I can visualize it.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

What is the relationship between the data warehouse and data marts?
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

This is my first query to you. I know bits and pieces about BI and the data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

We are using Ascential DataStage version 4.2 and I am having difficulty justifying the cost of the tool for Oracle source to Oracle warehouse loading of information.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

What are the implications to a data warehouse implementation striving toward a zero latency enterprise (ZLE) solution?
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

My company is planning to replace our old BI tool.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

Is there a good end-to-end meta data tool?
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

As PeopleSoft EPM 8.3 is a recent version and we do not have and history for its use, I would like to know what approach shall we take involving its staging and ODS schema for finance and Human Resources?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

Which tools and database should we select to implement a data warehoue?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

My client presently uses ETI Extract and custom-built code for many data migration projects but purchased Informatica and is planning to migrate to Informatica.
Ask The Experts published on April 2002 in DM Review Online

Can you identify some companies and products (other than Vality Corp. and their Integrity product) that can perform probabilistic matching on company names?
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

We are building an enterprise data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

Which hardware and operating system platform(s) would you recommend for placing the actual data warehouse data on (one terabyte initially and then growing)?
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

Improved ETL Change Detection through Operational Meta Data
Article published on December 2001 in DM Direct

Managing Current and Historical Views of Information in The Data Warehouse
Article published on August 2001 in DM Direct

Strategies for Custom Data Warehouse ETL Processing, Part 2
Article published on June 2001 in DM Direct

Strategies for Custom Data Warehouse ETL Processing
Article published on June 2001 in DM Direct

Understanding the Role Web Logs Play in Data Warehousing
Article published on June 2001 in DM Direct

The Generic Meta Data Repository
Article published on January 2001 in DM Direct

The Generic Meta Data Repository
Article published on October 2000 in DM Review

Hewitt Relies on Data Warehouse to Service Clients' Benefit Plans
Best Practices published on September 2000 in DM Review

SyncSort UNIX Drives Formation of Data Warehouse at Hewitt Associates
Product Review published on July 2000 in DM Review



Advertisement
advertisement
Site Map Terms of Use Privacy Policy
SourceMedia (c) 2006 DM Review and SourceMedia, Inc. All rights reserved.
SourceMedia is an Investcorp company.
Use, duplication, or sale of this service, or data contained herein, is strictly prohibited.