Portals eNewsletters Web Seminars dataWarehouse.com DM Review Magazine
DM Review | Covering Business Intelligence, Integration & Analytics
   Covering Business Intelligence, Integration & Analytics Advanced Search
advertisement

RESOURCE PORTALS
View all Portals

WEB SEMINARS
Scheduled Events

RESEARCH VAULT
White Paper Library
Research Papers

CAREERZONE
View Job Listings
Post a job

Advertisement

INFORMATION CENTER
DM Review Home
Newsletters
Current Magazine Issue
Magazine Archives
Online Columnists
Ask the Experts
Industry News
Search DM Review

GENERAL RESOURCES
Bookstore
Buyer's Guide
Glossary
Industry Events Calendar
Monthly Product Guides
Software Demo Lab
Vendor Listings

DM REVIEW
About Us
Press Releases
Awards
Advertising/Media Kit
Reprints
Magazine Subscriptions
Editorial Calendar
Contact Us
Customer Service

Author Index

Chuck Kelley

Chuck Kelley is a senior architect in the business intelligence practice for Hitachi Consulting (www.HitachiConsulting.com), a globally recognized leader in delivering value-based business and IT Solutions. Kelley is an internationally known expert in database and data warehousing technology. He has 30 years of experience in designing and implementing operational/production systems and data warehouses. Kelley has worked in some facet of the design and implementation phase of more than 50 data warehouses and data marts. He also teaches seminars, co-authored three books on data warehousing and has been published in many trade magazines on database technology, data warehousing and enterprise data strategies. He can be contacted at chuckkelley@hitachiconsulting.com.



RELATED ARTICLESOther DM Review Content from this Author

Ask the Experts
Article published on May 2006 in DM Direct

Ask the Experts
Article published on April 2006 in DM Direct

Would you suggest recovery strategies in data warehousing while loading high volumes of data?
Ask The Experts published on April 2006 in DM Review Online

Should the operational data store be designed using 3NF approach or a dimensional approach?
Ask The Experts published on April 2006 in DM Review Online

How do star schemas compare to snowflake schemas?
Ask The Experts published on April 2006 in DM Review Online

Are open sources capable of handling huge volume of data?
Ask The Experts published on April 2006 in DM Review Online

What is the best solution for a data capture issue, where the source tables don't have proper timestamp capture for the updates?
Ask The Experts published on April 2006 in DM Review Online

Ask the Experts
Article published on April 2006 in DM Direct

What are some best practices for customer data matching, cleansing and integration when your customers are public and private institutions in a variety of industries?
Ask The Experts published on March 2006 in DM Review Online

After almost completing the first iteration of our data warehouse base facts and dimensions, is it reasonable to convert to an ETL tool instead of using templates to assure consistency and accuracy?
Ask The Experts published on March 2006 in DM Review Online

What is an effective way of recouping the running costs of the data warehouse from the business users, without impacting usage of the DW?
Ask The Experts published on March 2006 in DM Review Online

How would you generate a report that shows non-events in a fact table?
Ask The Experts published on February 2006 in DM Review Online

How does data warehousing apply to machine monitoring information?
Ask The Experts published on January 2006 in DM Review Online

Is there any database management system which supports temporal databases?
Ask The Experts published on January 2006 in DM Review Online

What are the advantages of ETL tools over Pl/SQL loaders?
Ask The Experts published on December 2005 in DM Review Online

What is the most appropriate schema architecture for a data warehouse with downstream dependent data marts?
Ask The Experts published on December 2005 in DM Review Online

What activities and skill sets distinguish and differentiate a data warehouse DBA from a traditional Oracle production DBA?
Ask The Experts published on October 2005 in DM Review Online

Can you recommend any books or papers or an approach to obtain a common customer view?
Ask The Experts published on October 2005 in DM Review Online

how we can implement the concept of a centralized data warehouse in Ralph Kimball's approach by building a set of data marts for enterprise data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on October 2005 in DM Review Online

What is the relationship between the data warehouse and its portal?
Ask The Experts published on September 2005 in DM Review Online

Can anyone recommend DW training?
Ask The Experts published on September 2005 in DM Review Online

Is real-time integration or staging generally a better approach for enterprise-class software?
Ask The Experts published on September 2005 in DM Review Online

Can anyone provide a summary of how ISO 11179 and OMG CWM are related and where each pertains to a meta data repository project?
Ask The Experts published on September 2005 in DM Review Online

Could you please let me know the advantages of ETL tools versus traditional programming?
Ask The Experts published on September 2005 in DM Review Online

We're having trouble deciding just who does what and when they do it in the development life cycle.
Ask The Experts published on September 2005 in DM Review Online

Do you recommend keeping the same surrogate keys for a row in the ODS and in the data warehouse or can you assign different surrogate keys by data store?
Ask The Experts published on August 2005 in DM Review Online

Is any security policy relevant to business intelligence or data warehousing?
Ask The Experts published on August 2005 in DM Review Online

Is there is any standard methodology for the use of ETL tools or does it depend on the tool itself? We are at the process of buying a tool.
Ask The Experts published on August 2005 in DM Review Online

Is it wrong to build a billing application off the ODS?
Ask The Experts published on August 2005 in DM Review Online

Please identify dimensions, facts and a schema for the higher education domain.
Ask The Experts published on August 2005 in DM Review Online

Are snowflaked tables the sign of bad architecture?
Ask The Experts published on August 2005 in DM Review Online

From a quality assurance (QA) perspective, if the ETL process, dimensions and fact tables are tested properly, is it mandatory to verify the cube?
Ask The Experts published on August 2005 in DM Review Online

Which set of skills would be more pertinent for a data quality and support team leader, a technical skill or a business related skill?
Ask The Experts published on June 2005 in DM Review Online

It is difficult to design reports on an OLTP-oriented database with OLAP tools and some additional algorithmic language was needed to manage the records values in the SQL end result. Could you validate that view?
Ask The Experts published on June 2005 in DM Review Online

I am engaged in building a Web server log analysis tool for which I need a database to store the sorted data from the log file. Should I use a data warehouse or a simple relational database?
Ask The Experts published on June 2005 in DM Review Online

What is your opinion on the viability of a "general purpose" BISP and why are there so few?
Ask The Experts published on June 2005 in DM Review Online

If I have a CBAT tool like smartFOCUS, why would I need an OLAP tool too?
Ask The Experts published on June 2005 in DM Review Online

Would you advise creating a junk dimension for a single flag? Also, when is it a good idea to create a junk dimension table?
Ask The Experts published on May 2005 in DM Review Online

What is a junk dimension and could you provide an example?
Ask The Experts published on May 2005 in DM Review Online

Do you have any suggestion for a design solution for our claims warehouse with potentially 2-6 billion claims?
Ask The Experts published on May 2005 in DM Review Online

What are your thoughts on operational reporting coming from a DW environment supporting legal or contractual obligations?
Ask The Experts published on May 2005 in DM Review Online

How do you create a dimensional model for an educational institution using the nine-step methodology for data warehouse database design? Can I have a sample design?
Ask The Experts published on April 2005 in DM Review Online

Could anyone please highlight the pros and cons of using products where you have to create such data clouds, compared to constructing OLAP cubes?
Ask The Experts published on April 2005 in DM Review Online

Is there a software tool that monitors and controls the DW/BI processes?
Ask The Experts published on April 2005 in DM Review Online

What is the difference between analytics and data mining?
Ask The Experts published on February 2005 in DM Review Online

We are building a data warehouse with many source systems that provide data feeds.
Ask The Experts published on February 2005 in DM Review Online

What are the downsides, if any, to "data warehouse appliances?"
Ask The Experts published on February 2005 in DM Review Online

Since hardware is relatively inexpensive, does my company have to worry about performance?
Ask The Experts published on February 2005 in DM Review Online

How do we model a fact table in which the measures are constantly changing?
Ask The Experts published on January 2005 in DM Review Online

I am in a migration project which involves data extraction from Oracle tables to flat files for different systems.
Ask The Experts published on January 2005 in DM Review Online

Please define data reconciliation and database reconciliation.
Ask The Experts published on January 2005 in DM Review Online

Could you clarify the difference between the terms: data hub and staging area and identify where they fit in a corporate architecture?
Ask The Experts published on January 2005 in DM Review Online

Are there any standard practices to follow in regards to intermingling application data with warehouse data?
Ask The Experts published on January 2005 in DM Review Online

How does business intelligence (BI) relate to geographic information systems (GIS)?
Ask The Experts published on November 2004 in DM Review Online

We are extracting data from a legacy system that has summary data in it that we will need in the DW, should we re-derive these counts as functions of ETL to ensure accuracy?
Ask The Experts published on November 2004 in DM Review Online

How do we map all the OLTP schema to OLAP to answer queries about historical information in the data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on November 2004 in DM Review Online

When designing the dimension for a call center do I keep the information in a denormalized form or break it into logical mini dimensions?
Ask The Experts published on November 2004 in DM Review Online

Are there standards or best practices for report presentation?
Ask The Experts published on November 2004 in DM Review Online

How do 3NF and 1NF compare and contrast in VLDB? What advantage does the 3NF design have for a VLDB?
Ask The Experts published on October 2004 in DM Review Online

Would you interview top executives separately or as a group for the collection of business requirements via interviews?
Ask The Experts published on October 2004 in DM Review Online

What aspects do I need to consider for an ETL tool for a strategic data warehousing development project in banking domain?
Ask The Experts published on October 2004 in DM Review Online

Where can I find reviews on an ETL tool that will support Unicode?
Ask The Experts published on October 2004 in DM Review Online

Have you heard of GIS systems integrated directly with the data warehouse being done before and how it was achieved?
Ask The Experts published on October 2004 in DM Review Online

We about to establish a new IT section, using Oracle9i with a UNIX operating system.
Ask The Experts published on September 2004 in DM Review Online

We have a data consolidation system which takes transactions from multiple systems and consolidate and enriches it with contextual information and publishes the same to the downstream consumer systems.
Ask The Experts published on September 2004 in DM Review Online

I am a computer science student, and I want to implement a data warehouse using free software on Linux.
Ask The Experts published on September 2004 in DM Review Online

I recently joined the company as a DW data modeler in the production support group.
Ask The Experts published on August 2004 in DM Review Online

I have several years in QA and testing of software and am now working on my first data warehouse assignment.
Ask The Experts published on August 2004 in DM Review Online

What are the risks involved when doing data integration?
Ask The Experts published on August 2004 in DM Review Online

I am working in the HR data warehousing application in Ford Motor Company.
Ask The Experts published on August 2004 in DM Review Online

I'm being asked to add a "deprecator" indicator to my code tables to indicate when a valid value is no longer used.
Ask The Experts published on July 2004 in DM Review Online

We are currently evaluating several BI solution options and realized that there are solutions that manage by data kept in data warehouses and those that manage by data kept in analysis cubes.
Ask The Experts published on July 2004 in DM Review Online

This has to do with a data design issue.
Ask The Experts published on July 2004 in DM Review Online

For an aggregated fact table which requires its data to be dimensioned by gender and age (in years), is there any benefit in creating these as dimensions at all even if it may help in cross fact analysis or not to bother as the gender and age values would be the same as the dimensional key values (i.e., age_key 16 for 16-year-olds)?
Ask The Experts published on July 2004 in DM Review Online

The new trend has been demanding real-time data from the data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on July 2004 in DM Review Online

It has been suggested that we can skip user acceptance testing of the Dimension tables in order to speed up implementation.
Ask The Experts published on July 2004 in DM Review Online

I've recently hired on to administer and manage a previously designed data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on May 2004 in DM Review Online

What is the difference between federated data warehousing and distributed data warehousing?
Ask The Experts published on May 2004 in DM Review Online

What factors should an organization consider when determining how often to "refresh" (update) its data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on May 2004 in DM Review Online

In designing a star schema for grocery, we have promotion dimension.
Ask The Experts published on May 2004 in DM Review Online

Can you tell me how to distinguish reporting that is done from an OLTP system vs. reporting that is done from an ODS?
Ask The Experts published on May 2004 in DM Review Online

Where can I find a case study on the data warehousing life cycle?
Ask The Experts published on April 2004 in DM Review Online

I will be extracting data from SAPR/3 and flat files and loading into my SAP-BW system.
Ask The Experts published on April 2004 in DM Review Online

I have come across two approaches/practices in building data warehouses.
Ask The Experts published on April 2004 in DM Review Online

I have a question on best practices to be used in designing a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on April 2004 in DM Review Online

I am preparing a document for effort estimation for data warehousing projects.
Ask The Experts published on April 2004 in DM Review Online

I am working with a client that is currently enforcing a standard that does not allow direct query access to data mart dimensions and fact tables.
Ask The Experts published on February 2004 in DM Review Online

How can I upload Excel spreadsheet data into Oracle by using SQL*Loader?
Ask The Experts published on February 2004 in DM Review Online

We have six offices worldwide where Clarify is being used.
Ask The Experts published on January 2004 in DM Review Online

We are in the process of evaluating several EBIS (enterprise business intelligence solutions).
Ask The Experts published on January 2004 in DM Review Online

What tools support data warehouse-specific modeling techniques?
Ask The Experts published on January 2004 in DM Review Online

What is the third normal form of bookSBN, bookTitle, FirstAuthor, Publisher, PubStreet, PupCity, PubContact,Pages, Price?
Ask The Experts published on January 2004 in DM Review Online

I am looking for a time dimension table structure.
Ask The Experts published on January 2004 in DM Review Online

What are the major risk factors in a data warehouse project implementation?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

When should I use a bitmappped index?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

What are the responsibilities of a data warehouse project manager?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

Should I use a work breakdown structure in a data warehouse project?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

Can a single data staging area serve two masters, operational (ODS) and analytic (data warehouse)?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

I'm trying to persuade management on the importance of meta data.
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

I have a client that has a data warehouse with Sun servers, Hitachi storage and an Oracle database.
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

If the composite primary key of a table is always an identifying type, should we have an identifying type relation in a database?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

What is a degenerate dimension and how is it used
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

Is there any methodology to design and implement a data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on November 2003 in DM Review Online

I am working in the marketing department of an Iranian steel manufacturing company.
Ask The Experts published on November 2003 in DM Review Online

What are the pros and cons of horizontal database partitioning and please focus on the scenario when the database is part of a package (e.g., Siebel) which contains meta data.
Ask The Experts published on November 2003 in DM Review Online

We are using a bottom-up approach in our project.
Ask The Experts published on November 2003 in DM Review Online

I am a Ph.D student in engineering management at the George Washington University.
Ask The Experts published on November 2003 in DM Review Online

I have a data modeling question regarding patient diagnosis and hospital procedures that I can?t get to work.
Ask The Experts published on November 2003 in DM Review Online

My question is in the realm of operational reporting.
Ask The Experts published on October 2003 in DM Review Online

Is a data mart defined by its size or is it defined by the specific business process it supports?
Ask The Experts published on October 2003 in DM Review Online

I?m not sure if I?m going in the right direction with my data warehouse, data marts, cubes and business intelligence development.
Ask The Experts published on October 2003 in DM Review Online

Please define data farming and data cultivation.
Ask The Experts published on October 2003 in DM Review Online

I am newly involved in the BI/BPM space.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

Have companies that have implemented data warehouses, particularly financial institutions, established a special data warehouse organization?
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

I'm a JAVA developer involved in developing a data warehouse project.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

We are currently looking for a best-in-class, pure Web-based BI tool for reporting, ad hoc and analysis needs.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

What is the best RDBMS (Teradata, Oracle or DB2) for data warehousing based on performance and size?
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

I have read many articles about knowledge management over the years.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

What is the difference between the terms "business intelligence" and "data warehousing?"
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

If a piece of information traverses several applications before placement in the DW is the data quality of that information more in question than data that arrives directly from the operational source?
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

I am currently managing the feasibility study phase of a data warehousing project.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

In the insurance industry there are a lot of calculations that could be performed on the premium amounts.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

I would like to know about star schemas with multiple fact tables.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

I read about versioning of meta data.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

In a corporate information factory model, how does the 3NF enterprise data warehouse capture slowly changing dimensions if in the source system the dimensional attributes get updated (Type 1)?
Ask The Experts published on July 2003 in DM Review Online

I searched through your archive of questions and could not find an answer to my question, so I am submitting one in the hope you can provide some very practical assistance.
Ask The Experts published on July 2003 in DM Review Online

Is there a standard that can be used as a guideline for sizing and capacity?
Ask The Experts published on July 2003 in DM Review Online

According to Mr.Inmon, data cleansing is most important phase for data warehousing.
Ask The Experts published on July 2003 in DM Review Online

Which are the ETL tools that are generally recommended to be used with MicroStrategy?
Ask The Experts published on June 2003 in DM Review Online

If someone were to venture into the BI world, what would be a logical starting place?
Ask The Experts published on June 2003 in DM Review Online

We have an LDM in ERwin representing a comprehensive data repository expected to collect data from many sources.
Ask The Experts published on June 2003 in DM Review Online

What is a distributed data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on June 2003 in DM Review Online

Do you have any information relating to very large, multiterabyte data warehouses and ODBC performance vs. other access methods to retrieve large queries?
Ask The Experts published on May 2003 in DM Review Online

How can business systems analyze customer's personalized needs?
Ask The Experts published on May 2003 in DM Review Online

How effective is data warehousing for the manufacturing industry?
Ask The Experts published on May 2003 in DM Review Online

How does Ascential DataStage handle the three different types of slowly changing dimensions?
Ask The Experts published on May 2003 in DM Review Online

I work for a direct mail order company.
Ask The Experts published on May 2003 in DM Review Online

Are there any industry standards or best practices on how to handle vendor solutions specifically pertaining to conforming to information architecture standards.
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

We met with one of the BI vendors to discuss query and reporting and multidimensional reporting.
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

I'm in charge of our data warehouse and one of my colleagues suggested we look into purchasing a job scheduler to handle file transfers, job dependencies, etc.
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

Please give me a definition of an enterprise-wide solution.
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

What is a DOLAP?
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

Are Brio, Cognos, Crystal, BusinessObjects and SPSS the same type of BI solution?
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

Where can I find sources about failed data mining projects and the reason for their failure?
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

We are planning to implement a data warehouse. What are the advantages/ disadvantages of using Oracle database over Teradata?
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

Is there a "known" list of data quality principles?
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

I have trouble selling the data warehouse to management.
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

I'm a data warehouse project manager.
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

Can you give a three-dimensional size example of what a data warehouse would be to support a four year university?
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

I'm interested in any ideas for implementing a data warehouse in an educational setting.
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

We are involved with a DW strategy and planning a CRM strategy.
Ask The Experts published on February 2003 in DM Review Online

My customer information is spread over multiple systems on different platforms.
Ask The Experts published on February 2003 in DM Review Online

I have a small problem relating to the relationships that exist between a dimension table and a fact table.
Ask The Experts published on February 2003 in DM Review Online

We are building a DW for our distribution company.
Ask The Experts published on February 2003 in DM Review Online

I am developing a system which deals with a large amount of data - what are the storage configuration and technology more suitable for that system?
Ask The Experts published on February 2003 in DM Review Online

I am currently a student at college. We have an assignment to do on CRM.
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

What is the industry standard benchmark for data warehouse customer usage?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

When it comes to the design technology of enterprise data warehouse (EDW), some people are insisting we use Inmon's approach of top-down methodology.
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

Can we and should we adopt different data modeling schemas during the extraction, transformation and staging method?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

If there are 10 data marts which use different schemas (some use star and the others use snowflake), will inconsistencies arise designing a data warehouse using a bottom up approach?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

Assuming that the applications and databases are on separate machines, what is the current thinking on where the data warehouse database should reside?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

Do you suggest surrogate keys in data marts and/or EDW solutions?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

How can I use data warehousing or data mining in order to use a variety of information on several products covered in the survey?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

I have two questions...
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

I recently wrote a dissertation where I developed a generic data mining life cycle.
Ask The Experts published on November 2002 in DM Review Online

What is the role of genetic algorithms in data mining?
Ask The Experts published on September 2002 in DM Review Online

We are having a little debate here regarding the use of codes along with their related descriptions in our the relational dimensions (not the OLAP dimensions).
Ask The Experts published on September 2002 in DM Review Online

Industry standards state that the typical star schema will have about six dimension tables and the associated fact tables depending on grain, etc.
Ask The Experts published on September 2002 in DM Review Online

Are there sample documents on what to test in a data warehouse environment?
Ask The Experts published on August 2002 in DM Review Online

My company needs a central location for all customer-related data.
Ask The Experts published on August 2002 in DM Review Online

Report generation (BI) which searches and retrieves data from very large tables has resulted in slow database response-time and affecting the whole db performance.
Ask The Experts published on August 2002 in DM Review Online

My company wishes to study changes to its customer file.
Ask The Experts published on July 2002 in DM Review Online

Please explain the architecture of a data warehouse or direct me to books with figures so that I can visualize it.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

What does granularity mean in the context of a data warehouse and what are the various levels of granularity?
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

What does migration to the architected environment mean?
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

We have a successful data warehouse (which is to say that business users are asking for more at an accelerating rate) and I am having a real
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

I am in the process of designing the data model for the data warehouse. Is star schema or snowflake better?
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

We have implemented a data warehouse and we use OLAP (Essbase) and MS Access to query the data in the warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

This is my first query to you. I know bits and pieces about BI and the data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

What are the recent trends in terabyte-size data warehouse backups?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

What products perform well on an OS/400 platform?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

What is the difference between summary and aggregate data?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

Is DTS suitable as a sole ETL tool?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

Which tools and database should we select to implement a data warehoue?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

Could you please give me an idea of the typical range on a per record basis for a deduplication(data cleansing) project?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

Looking into building a cube(s) to house purchasing data such as commodities, vendors, unit costs, etc.
Ask The Experts published on April 2002 in DM Review Online

How could developers improve the use of DSS and EIS with DW technology?
Ask The Experts published on April 2002 in DM Review Online

Can you provide me with the top data warehouse solution providers?
Ask The Experts published on April 2002 in DM Review Online

Is there a Web site where I can find all the major BI/Analytics vendors that have optimized their products for MS SQL Server?
Ask The Experts published on April 2002 in DM Review Online

Can you identify some companies and products (other than Vality Corp. and their Integrity product) that can perform probabilistic matching on company names?
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

Regarding dimensional modeling vs. OLAP modeling.
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

I need to extract the database structure details to a specific location of an already created Business Objects universe.
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

One of our business requirements is to enable cause-effect analysis on two or more facts ? such as sales and advertising expense.
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

I am looking for a reporting tool with a simple report development interface.
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

We currently have a normalized group-wide data warehouse based on a UNIX/Oracle platform.
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

I'm currently in the process of gathering the business requirements for an enterprise data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

During the first meeting with one of my prospects (a large Italian tire and cable manufacturer) the IT person responsible of the DW in the company told me:
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

We are implementing a balanced scorecard (BSC) application and are going to use our existing data warehouse as the source system.
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

We are running out of extension field in fact tables (of a star schema dimensional model) and considering the creation of extension fact tables for additional extension fields.
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

How would you characterize the difference between Bill Inmon's philosophy on data warehousing and Richard Kimball's?
Ask The Experts published on January 2002 in DM Review Online

I am looking into data warehousing conferences for training purposes.
Ask The Experts published on January 2002 in DM Review Online

I'm designing a star schema for a client for reporting on the use of several systems.
Ask The Experts published on January 2002 in DM Review Online

We are developing a VLDB that will probably use aggregate tables as well as database partitioning.
Ask The Experts published on January 2002 in DM Review Online

This is with respect to the DW Design.
Ask The Experts published on January 2002 in DM Review Online

I have heard about reports which are created by joining more than one multidimensional cube.
Ask The Experts published on December 2001 in DM Review Online

Do you know the limitation of Oracle Materialized View? Could MV create and manage summary data from remote database?
Ask The Experts published on December 2001 in DM Review Online

Why has the concept of data warehousing become popular?
Ask The Experts published on December 2001 in DM Review Online

I've just finished my MBA (systems) and I am looking forward to a career in data warehousing.
Ask The Experts published on November 2001 in DM Review Online

Could you give me some help in finding DWs in the steel industry?
Ask The Experts published on November 2001 in DM Review Online

I'm evaluating DataStage from Ascential and PowerCenter from Informatica they seem to have pretty similar functionality, can anyone tell me what the main differences between them are?
Ask The Experts published on November 2001 in DM Review Online

We are investigating implementing a warehouse in Oracle using Oracle 8i, which will merge enterprise-wide data.
Ask The Experts published on November 2001 in DM Review Online

According to dimensional modeling theory, a fact table's primary key should be composed of multiple foreign keys...
Ask The Experts published on November 2001 in DM Review Online

Apart from stored procedures what is the best language for writing data cleansing and transformation code for any DW?
Ask The Experts published on November 2001 in DM Review Online

Our consultant is proposing the use of both the star and snowflake schemas in our datamart architecture.
Ask The Experts published on November 2001 in DM Review Online

Please provide some information on the advantages and disadvantages of using Teradata over DB2 for a larger database.
Ask The Experts published on July 2001 in DM Review Online

We are building a data warehouse on AS/400.
Ask The Experts published on July 2001 in DM Review Online

Does your company has any products that can calculate profitability in three dimensions: customer, contract or transaction (banking universe)?
Ask The Experts published on July 2001 in DM Review Online

My firm has been asked to perform the feasibility study for a meta data.
Ask The Experts published on June 2001 in DM Review Online

Does it make a difference in query performance if I write tableA.colx = tableB.colY or the other way round?
Ask The Experts published on June 2001 in DM Review Online

I am designing a star schema with a product dimension.
Ask The Experts published on June 2001 in DM Review Online

What is the future of enterprise information portals? Are intranet and e-business portals EIPs?
Ask The Experts published on June 2001 in DM Review Online

How can someone who has no experience in these tools choose one?
Ask The Experts published on June 2001 in DM Review Online

What are the performance tuning considerations to be kept in mind while designing this?
Ask The Experts published on June 2001 in DM Review Online

Could you give me a brief history of datawarehousing and comment on its expected future, please?
Ask The Experts published on June 2001 in DM Review Online

Why might data be duplicated in a distributed document database?
Ask The Experts published on June 2001 in DM Review Online

How does one take care of normalization while designing the schema?
Ask The Experts published on June 2001 in DM Review Online

How many databases have been sold in the past year?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

I have several questions regarding testing.
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

We have a DSS system and use it to calculate profit at a slightly aggregated level.
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

What is the general criteria or guidelines for selecting the extraction, transformation and load (ETL) tools best suited for your data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

How can I find the best available business intelligence tool?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

What is the best source of information for populating a geographic hierarchy dimension?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

In what types of business are data mining and data warehousing needed and how are they implemented?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

We are currently designing the processes needed for obtaining customer data for customer relationship management (CRM).
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

I have been asked to compare two data warehouse products from Brio and Cognos.
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

What is Teradata? I am seeing many requirements for this. How do I get the software and downloads of material for Teradata?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

What can?t my operational reports (from my ERP system) offer me what a business intelligence system can?
Ask The Experts published on January 2001 in DM Review Online

What are the growth prospects in the field of data warehousing if one takes it up as a career?
Ask The Experts published on January 2001 in DM Review Online

We are currently seeking to establish a reporting framework for our organization.
Ask The Experts published on January 2001 in DM Review Online

I have to build a prototype pilot project for a media client.
Ask The Experts published on January 2001 in DM Review Online

I work in a big data warehouse and we are using ETI*EXTRACT as ETL tool.
Ask The Experts published on January 2001 in DM Review Online

We are in the process of determining the best approach to update our data structure supporting our OLAP solutions from it's current structure of flat files to a data mart or data warehouse structure.
Ask The Experts published on January 2001 in DM Review Online

We are planning to move legacy data from IMS/MVS, DB2 etc.
Ask The Experts published on January 2001 in DM Review Online

Is it necessary to create a data warehouse separate from the operational data store (ODS)?
Ask The Experts published on December 2000 in DM Review Online

What do you think of an object-relational database warehouse platform? Does it make it easier to build a data warehouse? What are the advantages and disadvantages?
Ask The Experts published on December 2000 in DM Review Online

Because of competition, we?re moving more into the retail industry, and need to alter our data warehouse to suit.
Ask The Experts published on December 2000 in DM Review Online

Should data be changed in the data warehouse and/or data mart making it different from the source system it came from?
Ask The Experts published on December 2000 in DM Review Online

What are the disadvantages of having a data warehouse in place?
Ask The Experts published on December 2000 in DM Review Online

What tools would you recommend for extracting and the manipulation of large data sets?
Ask The Experts published on October 2000 in DM Review Online

I am trying to build a MDD from a relational Oracle Database using Oracle Express Server. Should I have the RDBMS and MDD on the same machine or on a separate machine? What are the pros and cons?
Ask The Experts published on October 2000 in DM Review Online

Can you recommend any commercially available standalone packages for time-sequence analysis?
Ask The Experts published on October 2000 in DM Review Online

What (if any) pros or cons come with creating summary tables in your data marts? An example would be to role up product revenue on a daily, weekly or monthly level.
Ask The Experts published on October 2000 in DM Review Online

How is the acceptance of Microsoft OLAP services as a replacement to Essbase or express?
Ask The Experts published on October 2000 in DM Review Online

As CRM grows in importance in the e-economy, what do you perceive to be the market perception of data warehousing/data mining?
Ask The Experts published on October 2000 in DM Review Online

I was wondering if there was a reason for or against using precision in numeric surrogate keys
Ask The Experts published on October 2000 in DM Review Online

I am looking for typical data warehouse project phases and the percentage of duration for each phase. Are there any resources or Web sites that collect this type of data?
Ask The Experts published on October 2000 in DM Review Online

We are currently evaluating meta data repository tools and the vendors sell themselves through their flexibility and extensibility.
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

I am very keen to move into the database sector. What are the typical day-to-day tasks of a DBA?
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

What are the best methods to understand requirements for a data warehouse? Are there specific format requirements for gathering, analysis and planning?
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

An operational data store (ODS) is different from data warehouse, but it is one part of data warehouse. Do you agree?
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

What are the changes required in order to convert a star schema warehouse to a snowflake schema warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

Is there an OLAP tool available that has direct connectivity to an Oracle database, or is using a text file the norm when dealing with Oracle?
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

Is it possible to make data model before ERP system implementation and a data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

I've recently inherited a data warehouse that uses disk mirroring, and we're faced with the need to add about a terabyte (mirrored) to make it through the end of 2000.
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

When should we use an ETL tool and when should we develop one by ourselves?
Ask The Experts published on August 2000 in DM Review Online

I am working on a data warehouse design and the client needs real-time updates in the DW/DM from a one-source system.
Ask The Experts published on August 2000 in DM Review Online

I'm looking for a middleware product that sits between an SQL-issuing application and multiple physical database instances that are segmented by table and primary key range.
Ask The Experts published on August 2000 in DM Review Online

I'm interested in knowing the elements/dimensions that would be required to build a customer data mart and marketing data mart for an e- commerce company.
Ask The Experts published on July 2000 in DM Review Online

What do you think are the most important criteria when selecting a data storage vendor?
Ask The Experts published on July 2000 in DM Review Online

What are the best practices when it comes to deciding between a mainframe and NT environment for a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on July 2000 in DM Review Online

What is the best way to deal with currencies in a data warehouse for a worldwide organization that wishes to allow people to view their data in local, reporting currency?
Ask The Experts published on July 2000 in DM Review Online

We are a service organization that handles campaign-based response (calls, e-mail and e- forms).
Ask The Experts published on July 2000 in DM Review Online

I'm in charge of defining the administration tasks of a data warehouse application, and I was asked to define a method to determine the growth of the data warehouse (capacity planning).
Ask The Experts published on June 2000 in DM Review Online

Is there a rule concerning aggregates tables mirroring the fact tables?
Ask The Experts published on June 2000 in DM Review Online

How does knowledge management relate to data management?
Ask The Experts published on May 2000 in DM Review Online

We are looking at Oracle Data Warehouse builder.
Ask The Experts published on May 2000 in DM Review Online

We are working on a data mart for a risk analytics business.
Ask The Experts published on May 2000 in DM Review Online

Are there any cases where the dimensional table is larger than the fact table?
Ask The Experts published on May 2000 in DM Review Online

I am interested in finding benchmark tests that have compared ETL tools.
Ask The Experts published on May 2000 in DM Review Online

Are expert systems on the decrease? Ten years ago they seemed to be the next new thing.
Ask The Experts published on May 2000 in DM Review Online

We want to build a data warehouse in our organization by using an ERP application as the main source.
Ask The Experts published on April 2000 in DM Review Online

Given the often predicted growth in demand for data warehousing, data mining and business intelligence capabilities as a result of the e-commerce boom,
Ask The Experts published on April 2000 in DM Review Online

My question pertains to slowly changing dimensions. We need to keep history so we plan on inserting a new row when the dimension changes.
Ask The Experts published on April 2000 in DM Review Online

I'm the marketing guy, not the DBA.
Ask The Experts published on April 2000 in DM Review Online

I was wondering what you recommend as a good tool to build a data mart or star schema.
Ask The Experts published on April 2000 in DM Review Online

We are a startup company aiming to develop a product to mine the network traffic for business intelligence.
Ask The Experts published on April 2000 in DM Review Online



Advertisement
advertisement
Site Map Terms of Use Privacy Policy
SourceMedia (c) 2006 DM Review and SourceMedia, Inc. All rights reserved.
SourceMedia is an Investcorp company.
Use, duplication, or sale of this service, or data contained herein, is strictly prohibited.