Portals eNewsletters Web Seminars dataWarehouse.com DM Review Magazine
DM Review | Covering Business Intelligence, Integration & Analytics
   Covering Business Intelligence, Integration & Analytics Advanced Search
advertisement

RESOURCE PORTALS
View all Portals

WEB SEMINARS
Scheduled Events

RESEARCH VAULT
White Paper Library
Research Papers

CAREERZONE
View Job Listings
Post a job

Advertisement

INFORMATION CENTER
DM Review Home
Newsletters
Current Magazine Issue
Magazine Archives
Online Columnists
Ask the Experts
Industry News
Search DM Review

GENERAL RESOURCES
Bookstore
Buyer's Guide
Glossary
Industry Events Calendar
Monthly Product Guides
Software Demo Lab
Vendor Listings

DM REVIEW
About Us
Press Releases
Awards
Advertising/Media Kit
Reprints
Magazine Subscriptions
Editorial Calendar
Contact Us
Customer Service

Author Index

Larissa Moss
Larissa Moss is founder and president of Method Focus Inc., a company specializing in improving the quality of business information systems. She has more than 20 years of IT experience with information asset management. Moss is coauthor of three books: Data Warehouse Project Management (Addison-Wesley, 2000), Impossible Data Warehouse Situations (Addison-Wesley, 2002) and Business Intelligence Roadmap: The Complete Project Lifecycle for Decision- Support Applications (Addison-Wesley, 2003). Moss can be reached at methodfocus@earthlink.net.

RELATED ARTICLESOther DM Review Content from this Author

Ask the Experts
Article published on April 2006 in DM Direct

Should the operational data store be designed using 3NF approach or a dimensional approach?
Ask The Experts published on April 2006 in DM Review Online

How should I define a total QA strategy to test an ETL data warehouse and reporting project?
Ask The Experts published on October 2005 in DM Review Online

What are some of the factors that influence an organization's satisfaction with its data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on October 2005 in DM Review Online

What activities and skill sets distinguish and differentiate a data warehouse DBA from a traditional Oracle production DBA?
Ask The Experts published on October 2005 in DM Review Online

What should be tested in the source (DB2) to ODS (Oracle) to data warehouse (Oracle) cycle and where should the testing occur?
Ask The Experts published on October 2005 in DM Review Online

Which set of skills would be more pertinent for a data quality and support team leader, a technical skill or a business related skill?
Ask The Experts published on June 2005 in DM Review Online

How do you justify the benefits of the data quality to small businesses, given that larger companies don't really want to know about the quality of their data?
Ask The Experts published on June 2005 in DM Review Online

How could I train to be a good data warehouse business analyst?
Ask The Experts published on June 2005 in DM Review Online

How will an ODS make the lives of business users and IT technicians easier?
Ask The Experts published on May 2005 in DM Review Online

What are some of the concerns we should be aware of in integrated planning?
Ask The Experts published on May 2005 in DM Review Online

Which certification for data warehousing is most widely accepted and is certification worth the time, effort and expense?
Ask The Experts published on March 2005 in DM Review Online

What are the differences between active data warehousing and real-time data warehousing?
Ask The Experts published on March 2005 in DM Review Online

Are there any existing studies/works/ideas about how to adapt the culture of an enterprise to the change into the Information Age?
Ask The Experts published on March 2005 in DM Review Online

What is the difference between analytics and data mining?
Ask The Experts published on February 2005 in DM Review Online

What are the downsides, if any, to "data warehouse appliances?"
Ask The Experts published on February 2005 in DM Review Online

Could you clarify the difference between the terms: data hub and staging area and identify where they fit in a corporate architecture?
Ask The Experts published on January 2005 in DM Review Online

Where can I find procedures or a step-by-step guide to use as a base to build my best practices and standards for data acquisitions?
Ask The Experts published on January 2005 in DM Review Online

Are there any best practices or templates for documenting ETL processes?
Ask The Experts published on January 2005 in DM Review Online

We are extracting data from a legacy system that has summary data in it that we will need in the DW, should we re-derive these counts as functions of ETL to ensure accuracy?
Ask The Experts published on November 2004 in DM Review Online

We are currently evaluating several BI solution options and realized that there are solutions that manage by data kept in data warehouses and those that manage by data kept in analysis cubes.
Ask The Experts published on July 2004 in DM Review Online

It has been suggested that we can skip user acceptance testing of the Dimension tables in order to speed up implementation.
Ask The Experts published on July 2004 in DM Review Online

I am working on structuring a data system for a German bank that needs a data warehouse that will allow access by different departments in the bank.
Ask The Experts published on June 2004 in DM Review Online

Have you ever seen UML Use Cases used as a mechanism of modeling a data warehouse functionality? Currently the DW is modeled using dimensional modeling techniques.
Ask The Experts published on June 2004 in DM Review Online

I?m trying to find out how a data warehouses architecture i.e., central data warehouse with distributed OLTP, affects the type of methodology used to create the data warehouse e.g., top-down, bottom-up, hybrid.
Ask The Experts published on June 2004 in DM Review Online

Any time I get to a data related project I have a choice of ETL tool vs.homegrown solution.
Ask The Experts published on June 2004 in DM Review Online

In a purely dimensional modeling effort we have a need to obtain data from multiple fact tables to complete the report as the clients need it.
Ask The Experts published on June 2004 in DM Review Online

It's always scary to trot out one's core beliefs in front of the pros, but I need to hear your constructive criticism.
Ask The Experts published on June 2004 in DM Review Online

I am looking for definitions of business and executive sponsors as this functions retain to an information warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on March 2004 in DM Review Online

We can have a staging area between extract and transform or we can have staging area between transform and load.
Ask The Experts published on March 2004 in DM Review Online

Is there any methodology to design and implement a data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on November 2003 in DM Review Online

Is a data mart defined by its size or is it defined by the specific business process it supports?
Ask The Experts published on October 2003 in DM Review Online

Can you suggest good material such as books, research papers and Web resources that can be a guide for writing professional grade data warehouse business requirements?
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

I am newly involved in the BI/BPM space.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

Have companies that have implemented data warehouses, particularly financial institutions, established a special data warehouse organization?
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

I'm a JAVA developer involved in developing a data warehouse project.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

What is the difference between the terms "business intelligence" and "data warehousing?"
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

We are in the process of implementing an ERP solution (SAP).
Ask The Experts published on June 2003 in DM Review Online

I have been told to identify all objects relating to a customer in a data warehouse and a data mart.
Ask The Experts published on May 2003 in DM Review Online

Are there any industry standards or best practices on how to handle vendor solutions specifically pertaining to conforming to information architecture standards.
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

We are planning to implement a data warehouse. What are the advantages/ disadvantages of using Oracle database over Teradata?
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

Is there a "known" list of data quality principles?
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

I have trouble selling the data warehouse to management.
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

I'm a data warehouse project manager.
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

What are the advantages and disadvantages of corporate data integration?
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

I am currently a student at college. We have an assignment to do on CRM.
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

Nontechnical Infrastructure for BI Applications
Article published on January 2003 in DM Review

When it comes to the design technology of enterprise data warehouse (EDW), some people are insisting we use Inmon's approach of top-down methodology.
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

I found several definitions of BI.
Ask The Experts published on August 2002 in DM Review Online

My company needs a central location for all customer-related data.
Ask The Experts published on August 2002 in DM Review Online

Report generation (BI) which searches and retrieves data from very large tables has resulted in slow database response-time and affecting the whole db performance.
Ask The Experts published on August 2002 in DM Review Online

Could somebody indicate to me where I can find test reports,case study or research information regarding data mining quality in relation to business intelligence reporting accuracy.
Ask The Experts published on August 2002 in DM Review Online

I am currently working on a data mart project where the client is requesting an ad hoc reporting capability.
Ask The Experts published on July 2002 in DM Review Online

Data Rich, but Information Poor?
Article published on July 2002 in DM Review

Data quality is a critical issue affecting data warehouses, (DWs) yet there appears to be no sustainable solution with regard to quality input
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

Could you please tell me how to document a detailed methodology for establishing/maintaining a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

Is there a reference I can go to which will layout a generic methodology for developing a configuration methodology through the entire
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

Is there any resource to describe what particular logical representations in a data model become in the physical model (i.e., entity=table, relationship=fk, subtypes=? etc.)?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

Before I begin, I must stress that I am an absolute beginner to data warehousing.
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

Can you identify some companies and products (other than Vality Corp. and their Integrity product) that can perform probabilistic matching on company names?
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

What is the scope of business analysis in a data warehousing environment?
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

Business Intelligence Roadmap
Article published on February 2002 in DM Review

What are the differences between data integration and enterprise application integration (EAI)?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

In what types of business are data mining and data warehousing needed and how are they implemented?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

We are currently designing the processes needed for obtaining customer data for customer relationship management (CRM).
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

Could you recommend any data warehouse management classes?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

Is there a widely recognized certification for data warehouse professionals? If so, what organization issues the certification?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

When we are cleaning data from a relational source, and some values
Ask The Experts published on March 2001 in DM Review Online

What is the purpose of designing a logical data model for a data mart or warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on December 2000 in DM Review Online

Can you please provide me with articles/white papers that discuss the quantified benefits of the application services like enterprise information portals, data cleansing and data duplication?
Ask The Experts published on December 2000 in DM Review Online

Should data be changed in the data warehouse and/or data mart making it different from the source system it came from?
Ask The Experts published on December 2000 in DM Review Online

What are the disadvantages of having a data warehouse in place?
Ask The Experts published on December 2000 in DM Review Online

Is it possible to make data model before ERP system implementation and a data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

We are interested in measuring the quality of the data populated in our data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on January 2000 in DM Review Online

Data Warehouse Goals and Objectives:
Part 3: Long-Term Objectives
Article published on November 1999 in DM Review

I have to do a data warehousing project. What's the best way to start?
Ask The Experts published on November 1999 in DM Review Online

We are currently building a customer data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on November 1999 in DM Review Online

Do you have any information regarding quality edits and procedures for loading warehouses and verifying data before releasing to the business groups?
Ask The Experts published on November 1999 in DM Review Online

What exactly is a corporate information factory, and the pros and cons of this approach?
Ask The Experts published on November 1999 in DM Review Online

I am a management student doing post graduate diploma in business administration (PGDBA) at I.E.S. College, Mumbai.
Ask The Experts published on November 1999 in DM Review Online

Here are a few questions that are bugging me while designing a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on November 1999 in DM Review Online

Data Warehouse Goals and Objectives:
Part 2: Short-Term Objectives
Article published on October 1999 in DM Review

I was wondering what the difference is between database administrators and data administrators.
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

Data Warehouse Goals and Objectives, Part 1
Article published on September 1999 in DM Review

Indicators for Success:
Data Warehouse Critical Success Factors and Measuring Results, Part 2
Article published on August 1999 in DM Direct

Indicators of Success:
Measures of Data Warehouse Success and Failure, Part 1
Article published on July 1999 in DM Direct

Proactive Performance For the Data Warehouse
Article published on January 1999 in DM Direct

Data Cleansing:
A Dichotomy of Data Warehousing?
Article published on February 1998 in DM Review



Advertisement
advertisement
Site Map Terms of Use Privacy Policy
SourceMedia (c) 2006 DM Review and SourceMedia, Inc. All rights reserved.
SourceMedia is an Investcorp company.
Use, duplication, or sale of this service, or data contained herein, is strictly prohibited.