Portals eNewsletters Web Seminars dataWarehouse.com DM Review Magazine
DM Review | Covering Business Intelligence, Integration & Analytics
   Covering Business Intelligence, Integration & Analytics Advanced Search
advertisement

RESOURCE PORTALS
View all Portals

WEB SEMINARS
Scheduled Events

RESEARCH VAULT
White Paper Library
Research Papers

CAREERZONE
View Job Listings
Post a job

Advertisement

INFORMATION CENTER
DM Review Home
Newsletters
Current Magazine Issue
Magazine Archives
Online Columnists
Ask the Experts
Industry News
Search DM Review

GENERAL RESOURCES
Bookstore
Buyer's Guide
Glossary
Industry Events Calendar
Monthly Product Guides
Software Demo Lab
Vendor Listings

DM REVIEW
About Us
Press Releases
Awards
Advertising/Media Kit
Reprints
Magazine Subscriptions
Editorial Calendar
Contact Us
Customer Service

Author Index

Sid Adelman

Sid Adelman is a principal in Sid Adelman & Associates, an organization specializing in planning and implementing data warehouses, in data warehouse and BI assessments, and in establishing effective data architectures and strategies. He is a regular speaker at DW conferences. Adelman chairs the "Ask the Experts" column on www.dmreview.com. He is a frequent contributor to journals that focus on data warehousing. He co-authored Data Warehouse Project Management and is the principal author on Impossible Data Warehouse Situations with Solutions from the Experts. His new book, Data Strategy, is scheduled for publication this year. He can be reached at 818-783-9634 or sidadelman@aol.com.  Visit his Web site at www.sidadelman.com.



RELATED ARTICLESOther DM Review Content from this Author

After almost completing the first iteration of our data warehouse base facts and dimensions, is it reasonable to convert to an ETL tool instead of using templates to assure consistency and accuracy?
Ask The Experts published on March 2006 in DM Review Online

What is an effective way of recouping the running costs of the data warehouse from the business users, without impacting usage of the DW?
Ask The Experts published on March 2006 in DM Review Online

Selecting Technology & Services:
Direction from the Chairman of the Board
Column published on March 2006 in DM Review

What method would you recommend to set up a central business intelligence competence center?
Ask The Experts published on February 2006 in DM Review Online

What activities need to be done in capacity planning for a data warehouse consolidation project?
Ask The Experts published on February 2006 in DM Review Online

Please help explain the 1) urgency of need and 2) elimination of risk for building a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on January 2006 in DM Review Online

What roadmap should I use for an insurance system data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on January 2006 in DM Review Online

What standard/guidelines should be implemented in the transactional systems to make the data business intelligence ready?
Ask The Experts published on December 2005 in DM Review Online

What parameters should be considered to compare the top five ETL tools?
Ask The Experts published on December 2005 in DM Review Online

Can you provide any cases on data warehouse and dashboard solutions?
Ask The Experts published on December 2005 in DM Review Online

How should I research user experiences before implementing a DW?
Ask The Experts published on December 2005 in DM Review Online

Please advize on how to implement a federated database system.
Ask The Experts published on November 2005 in DM Review Online

What are some of the factors that influence an organization's satisfaction with its data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on October 2005 in DM Review Online

What activities and skill sets distinguish and differentiate a data warehouse DBA from a traditional Oracle production DBA?
Ask The Experts published on October 2005 in DM Review Online

What should be tested in the source (DB2) to ODS (Oracle) to data warehouse (Oracle) cycle and where should the testing occur?
Ask The Experts published on October 2005 in DM Review Online

Could you please give me some information about BI methodologies,?
Ask The Experts published on October 2005 in DM Review Online

Can anyone recommend DW training?
Ask The Experts published on September 2005 in DM Review Online

Could you please let me know the advantages of ETL tools versus traditional programming?
Ask The Experts published on September 2005 in DM Review Online

Is there a standard questionnaire I can send to my client to get a good insight into his data warehouse and the processes he uses to implement the warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on September 2005 in DM Review Online

What are the primary technical data warehousing implementation challenges?
Ask The Experts published on September 2005 in DM Review Online

I am preparing a document for effort and cost estimation for data warehousing project. What should I emphasize because we can't use models made for software development?
Ask The Experts published on July 2005 in DM Review Online

One of our customers outsourced their data warehouse. Now they want to bring it back in house. What all factors should be considered and what are the risks?
Ask The Experts published on July 2005 in DM Review Online

I am interested in roles/responsibilities, reporting structure, development vs. run model support of a successful data warehousing organization.
Ask The Experts published on July 2005 in DM Review Online

Capitalizing the Data Warehouse
Article published on July 2005 in DM Review

Which set of skills would be more pertinent for a data quality and support team leader, a technical skill or a business related skill?
Ask The Experts published on June 2005 in DM Review Online

What are the ongoing maintenance issues of BI and data mining from both an IT and business management perspective?
Ask The Experts published on June 2005 in DM Review Online

Having met with the vendor, the vendor recommended using a "data broker" product to insulate direct "batch" or "external" updates to the database, because the database was not designed using any of the DBMS practices. I would like your comments on this.
Ask The Experts published on June 2005 in DM Review Online

How do you justify the benefits of the data quality to small businesses, given that larger companies don't really want to know about the quality of their data?
Ask The Experts published on June 2005 in DM Review Online

How do I map the underlying management principles or any framework or theories to the various BI tools?
Ask The Experts published on June 2005 in DM Review Online

What are your thoughts on operational reporting coming from a DW environment supporting legal or contractual obligations?
Ask The Experts published on May 2005 in DM Review Online

What are some of the concerns we should be aware of in integrated planning?
Ask The Experts published on May 2005 in DM Review Online

How should roles be determined in the development of an information system?
Ask The Experts published on May 2005 in DM Review Online

We have a large customer database and are interested in identifying "duplicate customers." What data is available on creating good metrics?
Ask The Experts published on April 2005 in DM Review Online

We're in the planning stages of an ERP project. What is the recommended percentage of training dollars for a successful implementation? Does it make a difference if portal access is being used instead of direct application access?
Ask The Experts published on April 2005 in DM Review Online

Which certification for data warehousing is most widely accepted and is certification worth the time, effort and expense?
Ask The Experts published on March 2005 in DM Review Online

Are there any standard practices to maintain the security within the data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on March 2005 in DM Review Online

How does a project manager keep up to date with technical expertise?
Ask The Experts published on March 2005 in DM Review Online

Is there a standard/common format used when preparing an RFP in the DW/BI space?
Ask The Experts published on March 2005 in DM Review Online

What is the difference between analytics and data mining?
Ask The Experts published on February 2005 in DM Review Online

Is it legitimate to capitalize our data warehouse instead of expensing it?
Ask The Experts published on February 2005 in DM Review Online

What recommendations do you have for a training program fro 500-700 end users?
Ask The Experts published on February 2005 in DM Review Online

Since hardware is relatively inexpensive, does my company have to worry about performance?
Ask The Experts published on February 2005 in DM Review Online

Can agile development methodologies apply to BI projects and if so what are the main pitfalls to watch out for in using such techniques?
Ask The Experts published on December 2004 in DM Review Online

What do you think is the optimal organization structure for business intelligence and data warehousing for an organization?
Ask The Experts published on December 2004 in DM Review Online

Could you please provide me with some resources/direction for data profiling tools that will give me a better understanding of the quality of my data?
Ask The Experts published on December 2004 in DM Review Online

We are migrating from one data warehouse to a new one.
Ask The Experts published on December 2004 in DM Review Online

What are the major risks of implementing an RDBMS in an enterprise?
Ask The Experts published on December 2004 in DM Review Online

We are extracting data from a legacy system that has summary data in it that we will need in the DW, should we re-derive these counts as functions of ETL to ensure accuracy?
Ask The Experts published on November 2004 in DM Review Online

What are the most important characteristics to compare when benchmarking data quality software?
Ask The Experts published on November 2004 in DM Review Online

Would you interview top executives separately or as a group for the collection of business requirements via interviews?
Ask The Experts published on October 2004 in DM Review Online

When planning for an enterprise data warehouse what types of investment should be planned for in the way of technology infrastructure?
Ask The Experts published on October 2004 in DM Review Online

What aspects do I need to consider for an ETL tool for a strategic data warehousing development project in banking domain?
Ask The Experts published on October 2004 in DM Review Online

We are in the planning stages of implementing a managed data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on September 2004 in DM Review Online

We have a data consolidation system which takes transactions from multiple systems and consolidate and enriches it with contextual information and publishes the same to the downstream consumer systems.
Ask The Experts published on September 2004 in DM Review Online

How can my organization use BI products to meet emerging compliance management and Sarbanes-Oxley (SOX) requirements?
Ask The Experts published on September 2004 in DM Review Online

I recently joined the company as a DW data modeler in the production support group.
Ask The Experts published on August 2004 in DM Review Online

What are the risks involved when doing data integration?
Ask The Experts published on August 2004 in DM Review Online

Across the industry, a common metric is in cost per GB stored.
Ask The Experts published on August 2004 in DM Review Online

I am looking for information on evaluating the success or failure of a data warehouse after implementation from a business point of view.
Ask The Experts published on July 2004 in DM Review Online

The new trend has been demanding real-time data from the data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on July 2004 in DM Review Online

Is there a report that itemizes the costs of reporting solutions for each vendor?
Ask The Experts published on July 2004 in DM Review Online

Do you have a standard template for gathering business requirements for enterprise data requirements project?
Ask The Experts published on July 2004 in DM Review Online

It has been suggested that we can skip user acceptance testing of the Dimension tables in order to speed up implementation.
Ask The Experts published on July 2004 in DM Review Online

What factors should an organization consider when determining how often to "refresh" (update) its data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on May 2004 in DM Review Online

I am a final year student of the University of London.
Ask The Experts published on May 2004 in DM Review Online

Where can I find a case study on the data warehousing life cycle?
Ask The Experts published on April 2004 in DM Review Online

I will be extracting data from SAPR/3 and flat files and loading into my SAP-BW system.
Ask The Experts published on April 2004 in DM Review Online

I have come across two approaches/practices in building data warehouses.
Ask The Experts published on April 2004 in DM Review Online

I am preparing a document for effort estimation for data warehousing projects.
Ask The Experts published on April 2004 in DM Review Online

I am looking for definitions of business and executive sponsors as this functions retain to an information warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on March 2004 in DM Review Online

I have to write a paper about problems with data warehouse implementation especially the initiation phase.
Ask The Experts published on February 2004 in DM Review Online

I am a DBA, new to data warehouse concepts and would appreciate if you could reply to my questions concerning issues of architecture as I prepare to implement a one terabyte warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on February 2004 in DM Review Online

I am working with a client that is currently enforcing a standard that does not allow direct query access to data mart dimensions and fact tables.
Ask The Experts published on February 2004 in DM Review Online

We have six offices worldwide where Clarify is being used.
Ask The Experts published on January 2004 in DM Review Online

We are in the process of evaluating several EBIS (enterprise business intelligence solutions).
Ask The Experts published on January 2004 in DM Review Online

What would be considered data management best practices?
Ask The Experts published on January 2004 in DM Review Online

What are the major risk factors in a data warehouse project implementation?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

What are the responsibilities of a data warehouse project manager?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

Should I use a work breakdown structure in a data warehouse project?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

I'm trying to persuade management on the importance of meta data.
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

I have a client that has a data warehouse with Sun servers, Hitachi storage and an Oracle database.
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

We have just implemented a BI project for our company and I have been tasked with doing an audit to evaluate the outcome.
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

What are the various phases in implementing a data warehouse solution?
Ask The Experts published on November 2003 in DM Review Online

Is there any methodology to design and implement a data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on November 2003 in DM Review Online

I am working in the marketing department of an Iranian steel manufacturing company.
Ask The Experts published on November 2003 in DM Review Online

How does one go about implementing a data warehouse for banks?
Ask The Experts published on November 2003 in DM Review Online

I am a Ph.D student in engineering management at the George Washington University.
Ask The Experts published on November 2003 in DM Review Online

Can you suggest good material such as books, research papers and Web resources that can be a guide for writing professional grade data warehouse business requirements?
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

I am newly involved in the BI/BPM space.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

Have companies that have implemented data warehouses, particularly financial institutions, established a special data warehouse organization?
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

We are currently looking for a best-in-class, pure Web-based BI tool for reporting, ad hoc and analysis needs.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

What is the best RDBMS (Teradata, Oracle or DB2) for data warehousing based on performance and size?
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

I am currently managing the feasibility study phase of a data warehousing project.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

My group has the responsibility for defining the business requirements for front-end (customer interface) and back-end (processing) operations for a banking operation.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

I am postgraduate in economics, presently working on my MBA in operations.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

I read about versioning of meta data.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

We have a consumer base data mart running on Win2K/SQL2K(SE) with MicroStrategy as the BI tool.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

I searched through your archive of questions and could not find an answer to my question, so I am submitting one in the hope you can provide some very practical assistance.
Ask The Experts published on July 2003 in DM Review Online

According to Mr.Inmon, data cleansing is most important phase for data warehousing.
Ask The Experts published on July 2003 in DM Review Online

I am a student and need help.
Ask The Experts published on July 2003 in DM Review Online

Reference Checking: The Gold Standard of Tool Selection
Article published on July 2003 in DM Review

How can business systems analyze customer's personalized needs?
Ask The Experts published on May 2003 in DM Review Online

How effective is data warehousing for the manufacturing industry?
Ask The Experts published on May 2003 in DM Review Online

Are there any industry standards or best practices on how to handle vendor solutions specifically pertaining to conforming to information architecture standards.
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

Where can I find sources about failed data mining projects and the reason for their failure?
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

We are planning to implement a data warehouse. What are the advantages/ disadvantages of using Oracle database over Teradata?
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

Is there a "known" list of data quality principles?
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

Can you give a three-dimensional size example of what a data warehouse would be to support a four year university?
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

Are there any Web sites or institutions that give the pros and cons for each BI tool? And are there any selection criteria?
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

What are the advantages and disadvantages of corporate data integration?
Ask The Experts published on March 2003 in DM Review Online

I am currently involved with a start-up for-profit graduate and undergraduate educational project.
Ask The Experts published on February 2003 in DM Review Online

We are involved with a DW strategy and planning a CRM strategy.
Ask The Experts published on February 2003 in DM Review Online

My customer information is spread over multiple systems on different platforms.
Ask The Experts published on February 2003 in DM Review Online

How do I get project managers (business side/end users) to take ownership in a data warehousing initiative?
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

The role of a business analyst for a data warehouse project is often conflicting and confusing.
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

I am currently a student at college. We have an assignment to do on CRM.
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

As part of a corporate-wide, one-instance implementation of ERP (SAP R/3) we are rethinking master data maintenance and data quality.
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

We are working with a data warehouse project where we extract data from the source (ETL) and create fact tables and dimensions depending on them.
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

We are (were) primarily a mainframe shop that has, in the past couple of years, moved first to Oracle and most recently to SQL Server databases.
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

What is the industry standard benchmark for data warehouse customer usage?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

It seems that there is very little academic research done in the data warehouse area in spite of the need for this by the business community.
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

I want to know how to estimate the total project cost to implement a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

I am providing information for a proof of concept (my first time) on an ETL tool for a major data conversion project.
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

What kind of tools can you recommend to perform data auditing and quality analysis?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

My company is looking for a BI intelligence suite to integrate with our CRM Web-based solution.
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

I would like to know how to make effort estimations for ETL, query and reporting, and data mining.
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

My CRM strategy includes a cross-sell process that classifies customers (leads).
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

Managers have always received financials and management reports in Excel spreadsheets that were prepared by the end-user community.
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

I am trying to prove a business case to demonstrate the quantifiable business benefits of implementing data standards to support our heterogeneous ERP environment.
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

The ROI for data warehousing is an interesting approach.
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

We have a foreign Telco affiliate which is building an enterprise data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

What are some of the companies with the biggest data warehouses?
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

Can you tell me where to find a good, comprehensive
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

I found several definitions of BI.
Ask The Experts published on August 2002 in DM Review Online

Are there sample documents on what to test in a data warehouse environment?
Ask The Experts published on August 2002 in DM Review Online

My company needs a central location for all customer-related data.
Ask The Experts published on August 2002 in DM Review Online

Analytical CRM in the Financial Services Industry
Ask The Experts published on August 2002 in DM Review Online

Can you point me to some resources that would help me understand what needs to be considered when setting up a development factory for BI applications?
Ask The Experts published on August 2002 in DM Review Online

In your opinion, what will be the hottest industry sectors (for example, banking, health care, insurance) for BI applications in the coming year across North America?
Ask The Experts published on July 2002 in DM Review Online

I am currently working on a data mart project where the client is requesting an ad hoc reporting capability.
Ask The Experts published on July 2002 in DM Review Online

I have been asked to do a study of DW features of SQL 2K and Oracle 9i. How do I proceed with such an exhaustive study?
Ask The Experts published on July 2002 in DM Review Online

I want to start a bank project on a data warehouse. How do I go about it?
Ask The Experts published on July 2002 in DM Review Online

We have a successful data warehouse (which is to say that business users are asking for more at an accelerating rate) and I am having a real
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

How do I cut my warehouse costs? I need general tips to reduce my warehouse costs.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

We are using Ascential DataStage version 4.2 and I am having difficulty justifying the cost of the tool for Oracle source to Oracle warehouse loading of information.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

What products perform well on an OS/400 platform?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

Do you have any suggestions for automated end-to- end testing for a data warehouse implementation?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

Could you please give me an idea of the typical range on a per record basis for a deduplication(data cleansing) project?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

My company is now investigating whether you could use one database model and/or one database for both OLTP and OLAP worlds.
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

Before I begin, I must stress that I am an absolute beginner to data warehousing.
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

How could developers improve the use of DSS and EIS with DW technology?
Ask The Experts published on April 2002 in DM Review Online

My client presently uses ETI Extract and custom-built code for many data migration projects but purchased Informatica and is planning to migrate to Informatica.
Ask The Experts published on April 2002 in DM Review Online

Can you provide me with the top data warehouse solution providers?
Ask The Experts published on April 2002 in DM Review Online

Do you know some CRM initiatives specially designed for educational organization (college, schools, etc)?
Ask The Experts published on April 2002 in DM Review Online

Our client already has many data marts without a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

How important it is to have a separate ETL tool when our target RDBMS supplies ETL capabilities, e.g., PL/SQL in Oracle and DTS in MS SQLServer?
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

We are building a data warehouse which will start at 100GB and will reach the terabyte range or more.
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

Is there any recommendation as to the best way to set up a DW team structure?
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

I am studying DSS as part of my coursework at secondary school
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

I am a student in computer science pursuing a Ph.D. on a topic related to data mining.
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

We are building an enterprise data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

I am looking for a reporting tool with a simple report development interface.
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

Which hardware and operating system platform(s) would you recommend for placing the actual data warehouse data on (one terabyte initially and then growing)?
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

We currently have a normalized group-wide data warehouse based on a UNIX/Oracle platform.
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

I would like to know how best to test the warehouse in ETL if we are not using any tools for ETL (everything has been written in programs)?
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

I am looking into data warehousing conferences for training purposes.
Ask The Experts published on January 2002 in DM Review Online

We are at a crossroad.
Ask The Experts published on January 2002 in DM Review Online

What is the difference between data warehousing and business intelligence?
Ask The Experts published on January 2002 in DM Review Online

How do I go about data warehousing for a financial organization? Any articles/sites you could suggest on this topic?
Ask The Experts published on December 2001 in DM Review Online

In your opinion, what are the next round of challenges in the data warehousing field, and what products are well poised to solve them?
Ask The Experts published on December 2001 in DM Review Online

I work for the conference production company and am currently conducting research for our new project on the topic of data mining/data warehousing.
Ask The Experts published on December 2001 in DM Review Online

Where can I find the equivalence of a consumer report comparing all the business intelligence products?
Ask The Experts published on December 2001 in DM Review Online

Why has the concept of data warehousing become popular?
Ask The Experts published on December 2001 in DM Review Online

I've just finished my MBA (systems) and I am looking forward to a career in data warehousing.
Ask The Experts published on November 2001 in DM Review Online

Could you give me some help in finding DWs in the steel industry?
Ask The Experts published on November 2001 in DM Review Online

Apart from stored procedures what is the best language for writing data cleansing and transformation code for any DW?
Ask The Experts published on November 2001 in DM Review Online

Our consultant is proposing the use of both the star and snowflake schemas in our datamart architecture.
Ask The Experts published on November 2001 in DM Review Online

Data Strategy Introduction
Article published on November 2001 in DM Direct

What would be the most effective and dynamic organization for a complete data warehouse project with OLAP and mining data marts, if most of the parts are ready to use?
Ask The Experts published on July 2001 in DM Review Online

I have been asked to build a cost case for the initial implementation of a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on July 2001 in DM Review Online

We are building a data warehouse on AS/400.
Ask The Experts published on July 2001 in DM Review Online

My firm has been asked to perform the feasibility study for a meta data.
Ask The Experts published on June 2001 in DM Review Online

What factors should be considered at different stages of a data warehouse implementation to arrive at a size estimate for a project?
Ask The Experts published on June 2001 in DM Review Online

Does it make a difference in query performance if I write tableA.colx = tableB.colY or the other way round?
Ask The Experts published on June 2001 in DM Review Online

What are the current issues and concerns with gathering requirements for a data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on June 2001 in DM Review Online

I have several questions regarding testing.
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

Are you aware of any risk management models that have been developed for data warehousing operations?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

I have been asked to compare two data warehouse products from Brio and Cognos.
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

What is Teradata? I am seeing many requirements for this. How do I get the software and downloads of material for Teradata?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

When we are cleaning data from a relational source, and some values
Ask The Experts published on March 2001 in DM Review Online

During the development of a data warehouse, how far can you progress with the development effort without the identification of an end-user tool?
Ask The Experts published on March 2001 in DM Review Online

I wonder if someone could help me find a simple tool, readily available, that visualizes the full business intelligence cycle, and enhances control.
Ask The Experts published on March 2001 in DM Review Online

In your opinion, what is the most popular database platform used for data warehouses in the telecommunications industry worldwide?
Ask The Experts published on March 2001 in DM Review Online

I'm looking for a real-world example where a business intelligence system has added value to a company ? that without the system the company would have been at a loss.
Ask The Experts published on March 2001 in DM Review Online

In planning a data warehouse, what are the possible disadvantages or advantages of choosing either DB2 or Oracle as the database structure?
Ask The Experts published on March 2001 in DM Review Online

What can?t my operational reports (from my ERP system) offer me what a business intelligence system can?
Ask The Experts published on January 2001 in DM Review Online

I am looking for benchmark data indicating the average cost per gigabyte for implementing a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on January 2001 in DM Review Online

What are the growth prospects in the field of data warehousing if one takes it up as a career?
Ask The Experts published on January 2001 in DM Review Online

We are currently seeking to establish a reporting framework for our organization.
Ask The Experts published on January 2001 in DM Review Online

How do you assess the robustness of a data warehouse system?
Ask The Experts published on January 2001 in DM Review Online

We are using Oracle for data warehousing and Oracle Express as an OLAP tool.
Ask The Experts published on January 2001 in DM Review Online

I have to build a prototype pilot project for a media client.
Ask The Experts published on January 2001 in DM Review Online

What are centralized databases? Pros and cons? Differences between centralized and distributed databases?
Ask The Experts published on December 2000 in DM Review Online

Which is a better solution in terms of flexibility, performance and scalability for data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on December 2000 in DM Review Online

Our data warehouse is growing and changing. We are adopting a formal documentation plan by IBM called Application Development Effectiveness.
Ask The Experts published on December 2000 in DM Review Online

Because of competition, we?re moving more into the retail industry, and need to alter our data warehouse to suit.
Ask The Experts published on December 2000 in DM Review Online

How does one create a methodology of development of DW in a country where this concept and technology has never been implemented. What steps do we need to take?
Ask The Experts published on October 2000 in DM Review Online

I am looking for typical data warehouse project phases and the percentage of duration for each phase. Are there any resources or Web sites that collect this type of data?
Ask The Experts published on October 2000 in DM Review Online

I am very keen to move into the database sector. What are the typical day-to-day tasks of a DBA?
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

I work for a non- profit organization that is just starting to write an RFP for their membership database and redesign of their Web site.
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

I am looking for AS/400 to AS/400 data warehouse solution.
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

I've recently inherited a data warehouse that uses disk mirroring, and we're faced with the need to add about a terabyte (mirrored) to make it through the end of 2000.
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

I'm interested in finding information on training employees who use data mining applications (that are not vendor-specific).
Ask The Experts published on August 2000 in DM Review Online

I am interested in any business intelligence trend analysis that has been completed for the legal market.
Ask The Experts published on August 2000 in DM Review Online

When should we use an ETL tool and when should we develop one by ourselves?
Ask The Experts published on August 2000 in DM Review Online

What do you feel is the best way to manage a data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on August 2000 in DM Review Online

I am working on a data warehouse design and the client needs real-time updates in the DW/DM from a one-source system.
Ask The Experts published on August 2000 in DM Review Online

What do you think are the most important criteria when selecting a data storage vendor?
Ask The Experts published on July 2000 in DM Review Online

I'm in charge of defining the administration tasks of a data warehouse application, and I was asked to define a method to determine the growth of the data warehouse (capacity planning).
Ask The Experts published on June 2000 in DM Review Online

Where can we find information about the types of tests to apply in the databases of the data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on June 2000 in DM Review Online

I have been given the responsibility to organize our enterprise meta data and come up with procedures and standards.
Ask The Experts published on June 2000 in DM Review Online

I am an IS VP for a Canadian retailer, and I was asked by our CFO to state why the business needs a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on April 2000 in DM Review Online

I'm the marketing guy, not the DBA.
Ask The Experts published on April 2000 in DM Review Online

We are a startup company aiming to develop a product to mine the network traffic for business intelligence.
Ask The Experts published on April 2000 in DM Review Online

My company finished a data warehousing project for a US e-commerce portal based on Microsoft technology.
Ask The Experts published on April 2000 in DM Review Online

I have worked on several warehouses and have found that host/4GL languages have a difficult time in performance compared to the inherent internal database processing that a high performance database stored procedures can offer...
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

Where do successful organizations place data warehousing and decision support systems within the internal IT organization.
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

I am working on my MBA and I have to complete a Hot Topics paper.
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

We have just kicked off our data warehouse project, and I'd like to know where I can get information about the performance comparison between SQL Server and ShowCase's Strategy, because one of these two platforms will be our choice for the DW.
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

My company has finished the first phase of a data warehouse, with total size of about 100GB.
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

I am looking for a data mining solution and currently see SAS as being the leading provider.
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

I'm now in the process of evaluating two proposals for a data warehousing project.
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

We are at the preliminary stages of designing a data mart/data warehouse for a large government organization.
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

I'm in the process of selecting client tools (DOLAP) for our Microsoft OLAP services-based data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

We are trying to help a client determine ROI on a data warehouse they want to build.
Ask The Experts published on February 2000 in DM Review Online

I'm a manager at General Motors and we have used QMF for years to extract data from our mainframe.
Ask The Experts published on February 2000 in DM Review Online

Several of my clients have asked me what the salary averages are for data warehousing professionals and/or individuals trained in ETL and OLAP tools such as ETI*EXTRACT, Informatica and MicroStrategy.
Ask The Experts published on February 2000 in DM Review Online

Can you offer information on any resources that discuss on-site data warehousing vs. off-site storage of the data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on February 2000 in DM Review Online

We have built a 700GB data warehouse. Now we want to initial a meta data project, what is the first step?
Ask The Experts published on February 2000 in DM Review Online

We are in the process of loading a data warehouse from a mainframe source.
Ask The Experts published on February 2000 in DM Review Online

Do I need a data warehouse to do data mining?
Ask The Experts published on February 2000 in DM Review Online

I am in the process of looking for best practices in the area of SAP enterprise-wide master data management and control processes.
Ask The Experts published on February 2000 in DM Review Online

Data Warehouse Project Management
Article published on January 2000 in DM Direct

I am working on designing a CRM db.
Ask The Experts published on January 2000 in DM Review Online

What system development methodologies are used for the development of decision support systems?
Ask The Experts published on January 2000 in DM Review Online

What advice would you give to a computer science student interested in pursuing a career in data warehousing?
Ask The Experts published on January 2000 in DM Review Online

We have recently implemented a standalone system for 15 branches.
Ask The Experts published on January 2000 in DM Review Online

We have our first data warehouse committee (7 people).
Ask The Experts published on January 2000 in DM Review Online

Have you come across situations where the information in the warehouse, relating to customers and their transactional history, becomes better or more valuable than in the system from which the transactional details were extracted?
Ask The Experts published on January 2000 in DM Review Online

We have a data warehouse, a corporate data policy and a data management strategy.
Ask The Experts published on January 2000 in DM Review Online

I am working on my master's degree in information systems and am planning to concentrate in data warehousing.
Ask The Experts published on January 2000 in DM Review Online

Where can I find some good information about the data warehouse life cycle?
Ask The Experts published on January 2000 in DM Review Online

Our organization has a centralized data architecture area that provides data modeling, meta data administration and enterprise architecture definition.
Ask The Experts published on January 2000 in DM Review Online

If a CRM system allows updating customer data, how do I implement a data warehouse (which does not allow altering the data) into the system?
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

My own experience in constructing a decision-support environment suggests that a data warehouse must be built to support key business drivers or performance indicators.
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

We are planning to implement a data warehousing project.
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

I am researching data warehousing in the insurance industry.
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

How valid is data warehousing in telecommunications?
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

This is a very trivial question.
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

We are an AS/400 shop.
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

How valid is data warehousing for any manufacturing sector?
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

What technologies are available to allow my data warehouse to be updated
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

During the planning process of a data warehouse and BI solution, what elements will determine the choice of these 2 approaches:
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

We have just delivered our first data mart.
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

I'm working in a telephone company that is only three years old and still in a growing phase.
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

Data Warehouse Goals and Objectives:
Part 3: Long-Term Objectives
Article published on November 1999 in DM Review

Would you provide an overview comparing tera data and db2/udb?
Ask The Experts published on November 1999 in DM Review Online

I have to do a data warehousing project. What's the best way to start?
Ask The Experts published on November 1999 in DM Review Online

We are currently building a customer data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on November 1999 in DM Review Online

Do you have any information regarding quality edits and procedures for loading warehouses and verifying data before releasing to the business groups?
Ask The Experts published on November 1999 in DM Review Online

Data Warehouse Goals and Objectives:
Part 2: Short-Term Objectives
Article published on October 1999 in DM Review

I am researching privacy and security issues within state government in developing a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

I am consultant conducting an evaluation on several business intelligence companies, and I am using the following criteria for my evaluation:
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

Have you found that some vendors market their product as a multidimensional index tool when, in fact, it is an inverted index?
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

Most star schema data warehouse technology we have examined uses a batch roll up
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

I work for a state department and we are in the process of developing a logical data model (high level).
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

What is the typical rate within data warehousing for promoting changes that effect transformation and data cleansing for existing subject areas that are in production?
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

What are the objectives that should be considered for a data warehousing strategy?
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

How can the knowledge management concept be implemented in DW design, and is it possible to have an electronic DW?
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

I was wondering what the difference is between database administrators and data administrators.
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

What criteria should be used to determine if an existing data mart should continue to exist?
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

Data Warehouse Goals and Objectives, Part 1
Article published on September 1999 in DM Review

I am a mechanical engineer graduate with three years of functional experience.
Ask The Experts published on September 1999 in DM Review Online

When our data warehouse went into production about 8 months ago, we never had any problems.
Ask The Experts published on September 1999 in DM Review Online

Indicators for Success:
Data Warehouse Critical Success Factors and Measuring Results, Part 2
Article published on August 1999 in DM Direct

I am preparing recommendations for Centralized database computing.
Ask The Experts published on August 1999 in DM Review Online

What do you think about MOLAP?
Ask The Experts published on August 1999 in DM Review Online

Indicators of Success:
Measures of Data Warehouse Success and Failure, Part 1
Article published on July 1999 in DM Direct

I built a great data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on July 1999 in DM Review Online

I think my girlfriend is seeing a data warehouse DBA.
Ask The Experts published on July 1999 in DM Review Online

I was told to build a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on July 1999 in DM Review Online

My data warehouse vendor says he can put in a data warehouse in 90 days.
Ask The Experts published on July 1999 in DM Review Online

My management is interested in a data warehouse but wants to know what it will cost.
Ask The Experts published on July 1999 in DM Review Online

My management has read some articles on the ROI from a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on July 1999 in DM Review Online

Doesn't it require a lot of data duplication to keep tons of data in a central data warehouse, then export that data to various data marts?
Ask The Experts published on July 1999 in DM Review Online

Proactive Performance For the Data Warehouse
Article published on January 1999 in DM Direct

Data Warehouse Project Management
Article published on May 1998 in DM Review

Estimating a Data Warehouse Pilot Project?
Article published on February 1998 in DM Direct

Meta Data Standards
Article published on December 1997 in DM Review

The Career Mentor
Article published on November 1997 in DM Direct

The Data Warehouse Database Explosion:
Special Feature from December 1996
Portal (Special Item) published on December 1996 in Portal Feature



Advertisement
advertisement
Site Map Terms of Use Privacy Policy
SourceMedia (c) 2006 DM Review and SourceMedia, Inc. All rights reserved.
SourceMedia is an Investcorp company.
Use, duplication, or sale of this service, or data contained herein, is strictly prohibited.