Portals eNewsletters Web Seminars dataWarehouse.com DM Review Magazine
DM Review | Covering Business Intelligence, Integration & Analytics
   Covering Business Intelligence, Integration & Analytics Advanced Search
advertisement

RESOURCE PORTALS
View all Portals

WEB SEMINARS
Scheduled Events

RESEARCH VAULT
White Paper Library
Research Papers

CAREERZONE
View Job Listings
Post a job

Advertisement

INFORMATION CENTER
DM Review Home
Newsletters
Current Magazine Issue
Magazine Archives
Online Columnists
Ask the Experts
Industry News
Search DM Review

GENERAL RESOURCES
Bookstore
Buyer's Guide
Glossary
Industry Events Calendar
Monthly Product Guides
Software Demo Lab
Vendor Listings

DM REVIEW
About Us
Press Releases
Awards
Advertising/Media Kit
Reprints
Magazine Subscriptions
Editorial Calendar
Contact Us
Customer Service

Author Index

Joe Oates
Joe Oates is an internationally known speaker, author and consultant on data warehousing. Oates has more than 30 years of experience in the successful management and technical development of business, real-time and data warehouse applications for industry and government clients. He has designed or helped design and implement more than 30 successful data warehouse projects. He can be reached at joates_48323@yahoo.com.

RELATED ARTICLESOther DM Review Content from this Author

What method would you recommend to set up a central business intelligence competence center?
Ask The Experts published on February 2006 in DM Review Online

How would you generate a report that shows non-events in a fact table?
Ask The Experts published on February 2006 in DM Review Online

What is the relevance of a work breakdown structure in a data warehouse project?
Ask The Experts published on January 2006 in DM Review Online

Is there any database management system which supports temporal databases?
Ask The Experts published on January 2006 in DM Review Online

Shouldn't the data administrator be able to glean data requirements from documented functional requirements rather than having to essentially re-interview the business folks?
Ask The Experts published on September 2005 in DM Review Online

What is the relationship between the data warehouse and its portal?
Ask The Experts published on September 2005 in DM Review Online

We have a large customer database and are interested in identifying "duplicate customers." What data is available on creating good metrics?
Ask The Experts published on April 2005 in DM Review Online

Could anyone please highlight the pros and cons of using products where you have to create such data clouds, compared to constructing OLAP cubes?
Ask The Experts published on April 2005 in DM Review Online

How do we model a fact table in which the measures are constantly changing?
Ask The Experts published on January 2005 in DM Review Online

Could you clarify the difference between the terms: data hub and staging area and identify where they fit in a corporate architecture?
Ask The Experts published on January 2005 in DM Review Online

How do we map all the OLTP schema to OLAP to answer queries about historical information in the data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on November 2004 in DM Review Online

What are the most important characteristics to compare when benchmarking data quality software?
Ask The Experts published on November 2004 in DM Review Online

When designing the dimension for a call center do I keep the information in a denormalized form or break it into logical mini dimensions?
Ask The Experts published on November 2004 in DM Review Online

Have you ever seen UML Use Cases used as a mechanism of modeling a data warehouse functionality? Currently the DW is modeled using dimensional modeling techniques.
Ask The Experts published on June 2004 in DM Review Online

I have to model a transportation data mart.
Ask The Experts published on June 2004 in DM Review Online

Where can I find a case study on the data warehousing life cycle?
Ask The Experts published on April 2004 in DM Review Online

I have a question on best practices to be used in designing a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on April 2004 in DM Review Online

I am looking for a best practice on how to archive data from a very large database (VLDB).
Ask The Experts published on April 2004 in DM Review Online

I am preparing a document for effort estimation for data warehousing projects.
Ask The Experts published on April 2004 in DM Review Online

What are the major risk factors in a data warehouse project implementation?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

When should I use a bitmappped index?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

What are the responsibilities of a data warehouse project manager?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

Should I use a work breakdown structure in a data warehouse project?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

Can a single data staging area serve two masters, operational (ODS) and analytic (data warehouse)?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

What is a degenerate dimension and how is it used
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

Can you direct me to some CRM models, approaches and comparison studies?
Ask The Experts published on December 2003 in DM Review Online

Is a data mart defined by its size or is it defined by the specific business process it supports?
Ask The Experts published on October 2003 in DM Review Online

How should I consider the integration of business intelligence systems and business performance management and what are the best ways to analyze these types of systems?
Ask The Experts published on October 2003 in DM Review Online

Can you suggest good material such as books, research papers and Web resources that can be a guide for writing professional grade data warehouse business requirements?
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

Have companies that have implemented data warehouses, particularly financial institutions, established a special data warehouse organization?
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

We are currently looking for a best-in-class, pure Web-based BI tool for reporting, ad hoc and analysis needs.
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

What is the best RDBMS (Teradata, Oracle or DB2) for data warehousing based on performance and size?
Ask The Experts published on August 2003 in DM Review Online

In a corporate information factory model, how does the 3NF enterprise data warehouse capture slowly changing dimensions if in the source system the dimensional attributes get updated (Type 1)?
Ask The Experts published on July 2003 in DM Review Online

I searched through your archive of questions and could not find an answer to my question, so I am submitting one in the hope you can provide some very practical assistance.
Ask The Experts published on July 2003 in DM Review Online

Is there a standard that can be used as a guideline for sizing and capacity?
Ask The Experts published on July 2003 in DM Review Online

According to Mr.Inmon, data cleansing is most important phase for data warehousing.
Ask The Experts published on July 2003 in DM Review Online

Which are the ETL tools that are generally recommended to be used with MicroStrategy?
Ask The Experts published on June 2003 in DM Review Online

If someone were to venture into the BI world, what would be a logical starting place?
Ask The Experts published on June 2003 in DM Review Online

We are planning a multinational data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on June 2003 in DM Review Online

What are the major issues that telcos face in deciding whether or not to switch from centralized to distributed/federated data warehousing platforms?
Ask The Experts published on June 2003 in DM Review Online

What is a distributed data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on June 2003 in DM Review Online

We met with one of the BI vendors to discuss query and reporting and multidimensional reporting.
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

I'm in charge of our data warehouse and one of my colleagues suggested we look into purchasing a job scheduler to handle file transfers, job dependencies, etc.
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

Are Brio, Cognos, Crystal, BusinessObjects and SPSS the same type of BI solution?
Ask The Experts published on April 2003 in DM Review Online

I am currently involved with a start-up for-profit graduate and undergraduate educational project.
Ask The Experts published on February 2003 in DM Review Online

My customer information is spread over multiple systems on different platforms.
Ask The Experts published on February 2003 in DM Review Online

I have a small problem relating to the relationships that exist between a dimension table and a fact table.
Ask The Experts published on February 2003 in DM Review Online

We are building a DW for our distribution company.
Ask The Experts published on February 2003 in DM Review Online

We are trying to create a policy on information reporting that would identify the types of reports that should come from our DW vs. those that should come from our operational systems.
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

How do I get project managers (business side/end users) to take ownership in a data warehousing initiative?
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

The role of a business analyst for a data warehouse project is often conflicting and confusing.
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

Is there any possibility of linking the measure of a particular fact to another fact in multiple fact star schema which needs the measure?
Ask The Experts published on January 2003 in DM Review Online

When it comes to the design technology of enterprise data warehouse (EDW), some people are insisting we use Inmon's approach of top-down methodology.
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

Can we and should we adopt different data modeling schemas during the extraction, transformation and staging method?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

If there are 10 data marts which use different schemas (some use star and the others use snowflake), will inconsistencies arise designing a data warehouse using a bottom up approach?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

Assuming that the applications and databases are on separate machines, what is the current thinking on where the data warehouse database should reside?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

Do you suggest surrogate keys in data marts and/or EDW solutions?
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

We have a project that requires us to integrate up to 10 legacy customer-centric databases after a merger to build a customer marketing data mart.
Ask The Experts published on November 2002 in DM Review Online

We are using MicroStrategy7 as our reporting tool against our data warehouse which is DB2 on an IBM OS/390 mainframe.
Ask The Experts published on November 2002 in DM Review Online

My company is currently starting an enterprise data warehouse project with an end result of ultimately feeding all of the back-end systems including our General Ledger system.
Ask The Experts published on November 2002 in DM Review Online

We are in the process of building an insurance data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on November 2002 in DM Review Online

I am building a data mart for a P&C; insurance company.
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

The ROI for data warehousing is an interesting approach.
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

I?m building a DW/DM for an educational institution which has many campuses.
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

Is BI reporting and reporting embedded in applications different?
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

In a simple star schema design for a data mart, does it matter if the relationships from the dimension tables to the fact tables are indirect relationships rather than direct relationships?
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

Can you tell me where to find a good, comprehensive
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

I have been challenged by a big manufacturing company, which consists of dozens of individual plants (through acquisitions but still function independently with their own data centers and some with their own DW) to build an enterprise data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on October 2002 in DM Review Online

We are having a little debate here regarding the use of codes along with their related descriptions in our the relational dimensions (not the OLAP dimensions).
Ask The Experts published on September 2002 in DM Review Online

I have a question on the Sybase IQ's performance.
Ask The Experts published on September 2002 in DM Review Online

Could somebody indicate to me where I can find test reports,case study or research information regarding data mining quality in relation to business intelligence reporting accuracy.
Ask The Experts published on August 2002 in DM Review Online

What does granularity mean in the context of a data warehouse and what are the various levels of granularity?
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

I am in the process of designing the data model for the data warehouse. Is star schema or snowflake better?
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

This is my first query to you. I know bits and pieces about BI and the data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

Could you please tell me how to document a detailed methodology for establishing/maintaining a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

Is there a reference I can go to which will layout a generic methodology for developing a configuration methodology through the entire
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

How do you write an acceptance test plan for a data warehousing project?
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

Can you use one database model for OLAP and OLTP?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

As PeopleSoft EPM 8.3 is a recent version and we do not have and history for its use, I would like to know what approach shall we take involving its staging and ODS schema for finance and Human Resources?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

In a data warehouse for the financial or telecom industry, the customers are of two main categories: corporate and retail.
Ask The Experts published on April 2002 in DM Review Online

Can you provide me with the top data warehouse solution providers?
Ask The Experts published on April 2002 in DM Review Online

What is the scope of business analysis in a data warehousing environment?
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

My company is implementing a DW, later this year an EAI project will be initiated.
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

Data Warehouse Project Management
Article published on January 2000 in DM Direct

Data Warehouse Project Management
Article published on May 1998 in DM Review



Advertisement
advertisement
Site Map Terms of Use Privacy Policy
SourceMedia (c) 2006 DM Review and SourceMedia, Inc. All rights reserved.
SourceMedia is an Investcorp company.
Use, duplication, or sale of this service, or data contained herein, is strictly prohibited.