Portals eNewsletters Web Seminars dataWarehouse.com DM Review Magazine
DM Review | Covering Business Intelligence, Integration & Analytics
   Covering Business Intelligence, Integration & Analytics Advanced Search
advertisement

RESOURCE PORTALS
View all Portals

WEB SEMINARS
Scheduled Events

RESEARCH VAULT
White Paper Library
Research Papers

CAREERZONE
View Job Listings
Post a job

Advertisement

INFORMATION CENTER
DM Review Home
Newsletters
Current Magazine Issue
Magazine Archives
Online Columnists
Ask the Experts
Industry News
Search DM Review

GENERAL RESOURCES
Bookstore
Buyer's Guide
Glossary
Industry Events Calendar
Monthly Product Guides
Software Demo Lab
Vendor Listings

DM REVIEW
About Us
Press Releases
Awards
Advertising/Media Kit
Reprints
Magazine Subscriptions
Editorial Calendar
Contact Us
Customer Service

Author Index

David Marco
David Marco is an internationally recognized expert in the fields of enterprise architecture, data warehousing and business intelligence and is the world's foremost authority on meta data. He is the author of Universal Meta Data Models (Wiley, 2004) and Building and Managing the Meta Data Repository: A Full Life-Cycle Guide (Wiley, 2000). Marco has taught at the University of Chicago and DePaul University, and in 2004 he was selected to the prestigious Crain's Chicago Business "Top 40 Under 40."  He is the founder and president of Enterprise Warehousing Solutions, Inc., a GSA schedule and Chicago-headquartered strategic partner and systems integrator dedicated to providing companies and large government agencies with best-in-class business intelligence solutions using data warehousing and meta data repository technologies. He may be reached at (866) EWS-1100 or via e-mail at DMarco@EWSolutions.com.

RELATED ARTICLESOther DM Review Content from this Author

Metadata Management & Enterprise Architecture:
Managing Metadata for the Business, Part 1
Column published on February 2006 in DM Review

Metadata Management & Enterprise Architecture:
Industry Specific MME Applications, Part 4
Column published on January 2006 in DM Review

Meta Data Management & Enterprise Architecture:
Industry-Specific MME Applications, Part 3
Column published on December 2005 in DM Review

Meta Data Management & Enterprise Architecture:
Industry Specific MME Applications, Part 2
Column published on November 2005 in DM Review

Meta Data & Enterprise Architecture:
Industry Specific MME Applications, Part 1
Column published on October 2005 in DM Review

Meta Data Management & Enterprise Architecture:
CIOs and Meta Data Management, Part 2
Column published on August 2005 in DM Review

Meta Data Management & Enterprise Architecture:
CIOs and Meta Data Management, Part 1
Column published on July 2005 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
MME Best Practices Case Study Allstate Insurance, Part 5
Column published on June 2005 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
MME Best Practices Case Study Allstate Insurance, Part 4
Column published on May 2005 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
MME Best Practices Case Study Allstate Insurance, Part 3
Column published on April 2005 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
MME Best Practices Case Study Allstate Insurance, Part 2
Column published on March 2005 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
MME Best Practices Case Study: Allstate Insurance, Part 1
Column published on February 2005 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Data Assurance Road Map, Part 2
Column published on January 2005 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Data Assurance Road Map, Part 1
Column published on December 2004 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Managed Meta Data Environment: A Complete Walk-Through, Part 8
Column published on November 2004 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Managed Meta Data Environment: A Complete Walk-Through, Part 7
Column published on October 2004 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Managed Meta Data Environment: A Complete Walk-Through, Part 6
Column published on September 2004 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Managed Meta Data Environment: A Complete Walk-Through, Part 5
Column published on August 2004 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Managed Meta Data Environment: A Complete Walk-Through, Part 4
Column published on July 2004 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Managed Meta Data Environment: A Complete Walk-Through, Part 3
Column published on June 2004 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Managed Meta Data Environment: A Complete Walk-Through, Part 2
Column published on May 2004 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Managed Meta Data Environment: A Complete Walk-Through, Part 1
Column published on April 2004 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Iterative and Narrative Data: Common Ground?
Column published on March 2004 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
The Importance of Technical Architecture in Software Selection
Column published on February 2004 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Designing the Optimal Meta Data Tool, Part 3
Column published on January 2004 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Designing the Optimal Meta Data Tool, Part 2
Column published on December 2003 in DM Review

The Importance of Data Integration
Article published on November 2003 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Designing the Optimal Meta Data Tool, Part 1
Column published on October 2003 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Meta Data Silos, Part 2
Column published on September 2003 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Meta Data Silos, Part 1
Column published on August 2003 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Meta Data Management and Enterprise Architecture
Column published on July 2003 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Independent Data Marts: Stranded on Islands of Data, Part 3
Column published on June 2003 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Independent Data Marts: Stranded on Islands of Data, Part 2
Column published on May 2003 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Independent Data Marts: Stranded on Islands of Data, Part 1
Column published on April 2003 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Data Stewardship Framework, Part 4
Column published on March 2003 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Data Stewardship Framework, Part 3
Column published on February 2003 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Data Stewardship Framework, Part 2
Column published on January 2003 in DM Review

I need to categorize and differentiate
Ask The Experts published on December 2002 in DM Review Online

Meta Data and Knowledge Management:
Data Stewardship Framework
Column published on December 2002 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Capability Maturity Model: Applying CMM Levels to Data Warehousing
Column published on November 2002 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Capability Maturity Model: Applying CMM Levels to Data Warehousing
Column published on October 2002 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Capability Maturity Model: Overview of the Six Levels
Column published on September 2002 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Capability Maturity Model: An Introduction
Column published on August 2002 in DM Review

I would like to know if you have any studies comparing different software for business intelligence?
Ask The Experts published on July 2002 in DM Review Online

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Meta Data Repository: A System that Manages Our Systems
Column published on July 2002 in DM Review

Is there a good end-to-end meta data tool?
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Revisiting the Top 10 Meta Data Repository Mistakes, Part 2
Column published on June 2002 in DM Review

Can you use one database model for OLAP and OLTP?
Ask The Experts published on May 2002 in DM Review Online

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Revisiting the Top 10 Meta Data Repository Mistakes, Part 1
Column published on May 2002 in DM Review

I am the quality assurance (QA) manager for the Data Management Services department of the Bank of Montreal.
Ask The Experts published on April 2002 in DM Review Online

Meta Data and Knowledge Management:
IT Portfolio Management
Column published on April 2002 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
Meta Data Repository Myths
Column published on March 2002 in DM Review

I would like to know how best to test the warehouse in ETL if we are not using any tools for ETL (everything has been written in programs)?
Ask The Experts published on February 2002 in DM Review Online

Meta Data Repositories: Where We've Been and Where We're Going
Article published on February 2002 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
New Technology's Three-Phase Life Cycle
Column published on January 2002 in DM Review

Meta Data & Knowledge Management:
A Meta Data Repository is the Key to Knowledge Management
Column published on December 2001 in DM Review

Meta Data & Data Administration:
God Bless America
Column published on November 2001 in DM Review

Meta Data & Data Administration:
Repository: Buy Versus Build
Column published on October 2001 in DM Review

Meta Data & Data Administration:
Which Comes First ? The Chicken or the Egg?
Column published on September 2001 in DM Review

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Meta Data Repository Project Plan: The Rollout Phase
Column published on July 2001 in DM Review

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Meta Data Repository Project Plan: The Construction Phase
Column published on May 2001 in DM Review

I have a single business application and I would like to document its programs, scripts, functions and the corresponding data structures.
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Meta Data Repository Project Plan: Part 2 of the Design Phase
Column published on April 2001 in DM Review

When we are cleaning data from a relational source, and some values
Ask The Experts published on March 2001 in DM Review Online

I'm looking for surveys or comparative studies information on data warehousing products and data mining products on the market.
Ask The Experts published on March 2001 in DM Review Online

In your opinion, what is the most popular database platform used for data warehouses in the telecommunications industry worldwide?
Ask The Experts published on March 2001 in DM Review Online

In planning a data warehouse, what are the possible disadvantages or advantages of choosing either DB2 or Oracle as the database structure?
Ask The Experts published on March 2001 in DM Review Online

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Meta Data Repository Project Plan: Part 1 of the Design Phase
Column published on March 2001 in DM Review

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Meta Data Repository Project Plan: The Feasibility Phase
Column published on February 2001 in DM Review

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Meta Data Repository Project Plan: The Orientation Phase
Column published on January 2001 in DM Review

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Evaluating Meta Data Tools
Column published on December 2000 in DM Review

Meta Data and Data Administration: Implementing Data Quality Through Meta Data, Part 1
Article published on November 2000 in DM Direct

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Meta Data ROI: Specific Guidelines for Your Company
Column published on November 2000 in DM Review

I am trying to build a MDD from a relational Oracle Database using Oracle Express Server. Should I have the RDBMS and MDD on the same machine or on a separate machine? What are the pros and cons?
Ask The Experts published on October 2000 in DM Review Online

We are currently using ERwin as our data modeling tool and CA/Platinum repository for our centralized meta data repository.
Ask The Experts published on October 2000 in DM Review Online

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Meta Data ROI: A Competitive Advantage
Column published on October 2000 in DM Review

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Meta Data ROI: Making Your IT Department Better, Stronger, Faster
Column published on September 2000 in DM Review

We are currently evaluating meta data repository tools and the vendors sell themselves through their flexibility and extensibility.
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

Are there any national or worldwide business intelligence consortiums or associations?
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

I've recently inherited a data warehouse that uses disk mirroring, and we're faced with the need to add about a terabyte (mirrored) to make it through the end of 2000.
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Modeling Meta Data
Column published on August 2000 in DM Review Exclusive Online Content

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Whassup!?! XML and Data Warehousing that's What!
Column published on July 2000 in DM Review

What are the best practices when it comes to deciding between a mainframe and NT environment for a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on July 2000 in DM Review Online

Meta Data and Data Administration:
XML's Uses In Data Warehousing: Getting Data In
Column published on June 2000 in DM Review

Who is a good source of information in data mining in the world today?
Ask The Experts published on June 2000 in DM Review Online

Where can I get a comparative technical feature list of meta data products?
Ask The Experts published on June 2000 in DM Review Online

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Implementing Data Quality Through Meta Data, Part 2
Column published on May 2000 in DM Review

Given the often predicted growth in demand for data warehousing, data mining and business intelligence capabilities as a result of the e-commerce boom,
Ask The Experts published on April 2000 in DM Review Online

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Implementing Data Quality Through Meta Data, Part 1
Column published on April 2000 in DM Review Exclusive Online Content

I'm the marketing guy, not the DBA.
Ask The Experts published on April 2000 in DM Review Online

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Meta Data Architecture Fundamentals
Column published on March 2000 in DM Review

Where do successful organizations place data warehousing and decision support systems within the internal IT organization.
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

I'm the project leader for a data warehousing development project.
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

Meta Data and Data Administration:
XML: The Global Meta Data Standard
Column published on February 2000 in DM Review

Recently, our organization has been restructured so that one team focuses on data warehouse activities and the other on reference data.
Ask The Experts published on February 2000 in DM Review Online

Several of my clients have asked me what the salary averages are for data warehousing professionals and/or individuals trained in ETL and OLAP tools such as ETI*EXTRACT, Informatica and MicroStrategy.
Ask The Experts published on February 2000 in DM Review Online

We have built a 700GB data warehouse. Now we want to initial a meta data project, what is the first step?
Ask The Experts published on February 2000 in DM Review Online

We are in the process of loading a data warehouse from a mainframe source.
Ask The Experts published on February 2000 in DM Review Online

My company is thinking about building a data warehouse for our marketing department.
Ask The Experts published on February 2000 in DM Review Online

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Data Warehousing Trends for 2000
Column published on January 2000 in DM Review

Where can I find standards regarding data management?
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

We are making a decision about selecting which ETL tools we should use.
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

What exactly is the role of meta data and its relation with an ETL tool?
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

My own experience in constructing a decision-support environment suggests that a data warehouse must be built to support key business drivers or performance indicators.
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Advanced Meta Data Architecture
Column published on November 1999 in DM Review

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Meta Data ROI: Meta Data Solutions, Part 3
Column published on October 1999 in DM Review

What is the typical rate within data warehousing for promoting changes that effect transformation and data cleansing for existing subject areas that are in production?
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

What are the objectives that should be considered for a data warehousing strategy?
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

We are creating a data warehouse that must restrict access to data for certain classes of users.
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

How can the knowledge management concept be implemented in DW design, and is it possible to have an electronic DW?
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

I was wondering what the difference is between database administrators and data administrators.
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

What exactly is knowledge management?
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Meta Data ROI: The Evolution of Technology, Part 2
Column published on September 1999 in DM Review

If a central bank is to set up a data warehouse, what all factors should it look into?
Ask The Experts published on September 1999 in DM Review Online

Where can I find a product that does the following:
Ask The Experts published on September 1999 in DM Review Online

We are in the prototyping phase of our data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on August 1999 in DM Review Online

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Meta Data ROI: The Evolution of Business, Part 1
Column published on July 1999 in DM Review

I'm in this for the bucks and I hear that there's a pile of money to be made in data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on July 1999 in DM Review Online

Doesn't it require a lot of data duplication to keep tons of data in a central data warehouse, then export that data to various data marts?
Ask The Experts published on July 1999 in DM Review Online

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Data Administration Staffing, Part 2
Column published on June 1999 in DM Review

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Data Administration Staffing, Part 1
Column published on May 1999 in DM Review

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Top 10 Mistakes to Avoid, Part 2
Column published on April 1999 in DM Review

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Top 10 Mistakes to Avoid
Column published on March 1999 in DM Review

Meta Data and Data Administration:
Meta Data: The Key to Decision Support
Column published on February 1999 in DM Review

Data Mart Migration
Article published on December 1998 in DM Review

Stranded on Islands of Data
Article published on November 1998 in DM Review

Meta Data Integration: Fitting Square Pegs in Round Holes
Article published on September 1998 in DM Review

Starting a Data Warehousing Project?
Article published on July 1998 in DM Direct

Managing Meta Data
Article published on March 1998 in DM Review



Advertisement
advertisement
Site Map Terms of Use Privacy Policy
SourceMedia (c) 2006 DM Review and SourceMedia, Inc. All rights reserved.
SourceMedia is an Investcorp company.
Use, duplication, or sale of this service, or data contained herein, is strictly prohibited.