Portals eNewsletters Web Seminars dataWarehouse.com DM Review Magazine
DM Review | Covering Business Intelligence, Integration & Analytics
   Covering Business Intelligence, Integration & Analytics Advanced Search
advertisement

RESOURCE PORTALS
View all Portals

WEB SEMINARS
Scheduled Events

RESEARCH VAULT
White Paper Library
Research Papers

CAREERZONE
View Job Listings
Post a job

Advertisement

INFORMATION CENTER
DM Review Home
Newsletters
Current Magazine Issue
Magazine Archives
Online Columnists
Ask the Experts
Industry News
Search DM Review

GENERAL RESOURCES
Bookstore
Buyer's Guide
Glossary
Industry Events Calendar
Monthly Product Guides
Software Demo Lab
Vendor Listings

DM REVIEW
About Us
Press Releases
Awards
Advertising/Media Kit
Reprints
Magazine Subscriptions
Editorial Calendar
Contact Us
Customer Service

Author Index

Douglas Hackney
Douglas Hackney is the president of Enterprise Group Ltd., a consulting and knowledge-transfer company specializing in designing and implementing data warehouses and associated information delivery systems. He can be reached at www.egltd.com.

RELATED ARTICLESOther DM Review Content from this Author

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The Moving Box
Column published on August 2003 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Stocking the Bunker
Column published on June 2003 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The Tin Man
Column published on May 2003 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Make No Little Plans
Column published on April 2003 in DM Review Exclusive Online Content

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Not So Right?
Column published on March 2003 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
They Can't
Column published on February 2003 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Data Quality Fear
Column published on January 2003 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The Slice
Column published on December 2002 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
CRM: Rest in Peace?
Column published on November 2002 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
False Gods
Column published on October 2002 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
What's in a Word?
Column published on September 2002 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Measuring Success
Column published on August 2002 in DM Review

In your opinion, what will be the hottest industry sectors (for example, banking, health care, insurance) for BI applications in the coming year across North America?
Ask The Experts published on July 2002 in DM Review Online

Many organizations have an interest in enterprise application integration (EAI) lately.
Ask The Experts published on July 2002 in DM Review Online

I have been asked to do a study of DW features of SQL 2K and Oracle 9i. How do I proceed with such an exhaustive study?
Ask The Experts published on July 2002 in DM Review Online

My company wishes to study changes to its customer file.
Ask The Experts published on July 2002 in DM Review Online

I want to start a bank project on a data warehouse. How do I go about it?
Ask The Experts published on July 2002 in DM Review Online

Data Warehouse Delivery:
BI Architecture Tiers
Column published on July 2002 in DM Review

Please explain the architecture of a data warehouse or direct me to books with figures so that I can visualize it.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

What does migration to the architected environment mean?
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

What is the relationship between the data warehouse and data marts?
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

What are top-down and bottom-up models and how do they differ?
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

We have a successful data warehouse (which is to say that business users are asking for more at an accelerating rate) and I am having a real
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

How do I cut my warehouse costs? I need general tips to reduce my warehouse costs.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

We have implemented a data warehouse and we use OLAP (Essbase) and MS Access to query the data in the warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

We are using Ascential DataStage version 4.2 and I am having difficulty justifying the cost of the tool for Oracle source to Oracle warehouse loading of information.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

What are the implications to a data warehouse implementation striving toward a zero latency enterprise (ZLE) solution?
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

My company is planning to replace our old BI tool.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

Could you please tell me how to document a detailed methodology for establishing/maintaining a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on June 2002 in DM Review Online

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Cultural Scalability
Column published on June 2002 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Architecture of Architectures
Column published on May 2002 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The Personal Data Warehouse
Column published on April 2002 in DM Review

Our client already has many data marts without a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

We are looking to implement a new messaging/middleware tool before our existing middleware tool causes havoc or grinds to a halt.
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

I have a question about OLAP.
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

There are some lively discussions going on regarding the appropriate use of surrogate keys versus natural keys.
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

We are building a data warehouse which will start at 100GB and will reach the terabyte range or more.
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

What is the scope of business analysis in a data warehousing environment?
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

Is there any recommendation as to the best way to set up a DW team structure?
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

My company is implementing a DW, later this year an EAI project will be initiated.
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

I am studying DSS as part of my coursework at secondary school
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

I'm preparing a work about BI, especially SPSS? BI products.
Ask The Experts published on March 2002 in DM Review Online

Data Warehouse Delivery:
And the Winner Is...
Column published on March 2002 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Analysis, Inc.
Column published on February 2002 in DM Review

We Can
Article published on January 2002 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The Future is Now
Column published on December 2001 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Back to Basics
Column published on November 2001 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Blue Ribbons
Column published on October 2001 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Addressing the Troops
Column published on September 2001 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The Bake-Off of One
Column published on August 2001 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Paying the Price
Column published on July 2001 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Hub-and-Spoke Federation Communication
Column published on June 2001 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Federation Variation
Column published on May 2001 in DM Review

I have several questions regarding testing.
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

We have a DSS system and use it to calculate profit at a slightly aggregated level.
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

Where can I find success stories of financial services companies that have successfully implemented a data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

I have been asked to compare the strengths and weakness of Business Objects, Brio Query, Impromptu and Crystal Reports.
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

What is the general criteria or guidelines for selecting the extraction, transformation and load (ETL) tools best suited for your data warehouse?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

What are the differences between data integration and enterprise application integration (EAI)?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

How can I find the best available business intelligence tool?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

I would like to get some feedback regarding implementing a SAP BW solution prior to any installation of R/3.
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

In what types of business are data mining and data warehousing needed and how are they implemented?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

We are currently designing the processes needed for obtaining customer data for customer relationship management (CRM).
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

Is there a widely recognized certification for data warehouse professionals? If so, what organization issues the certification?
Ask The Experts published on April 2001 in DM Review Online

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Federation Glue
Column published on April 2001 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The Seven Deadly Sins Revisited, Part 2
Column published on March 2001 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The Seven Deadly Sins Revisited
Column published on February 2001 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The Power of Process
Column published on January 2001 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The Security Myth
Column published on December 2000 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The Dispersion of the Power of BI
Column published on November 2000 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The Vein of Pain
Column published on October 2000 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
CRM Prerequisite #1: A Data Warehouse System
Column published on September 2000 in DM Review

We are currently evaluating meta data repository tools and the vendors sell themselves through their flexibility and extensibility.
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

I work for a non- profit organization that is just starting to write an RFP for their membership database and redesign of their Web site.
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

What are the best methods to understand requirements for a data warehouse? Are there specific format requirements for gathering, analysis and planning?
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

I am looking for AS/400 to AS/400 data warehouse solution.
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

What are the top enterprise information portal (EIP) vendors?
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

My company developed a tool we have classified as OLAP-D, D because it has its own syntax to let the business user define the business meta data as formulas.
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

Is there an OLAP tool available that has direct connectivity to an Oracle database, or is using a text file the norm when dealing with Oracle?
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

Are there any national or worldwide business intelligence consortiums or associations?
Ask The Experts published on September 2000 in DM Review Online

E-BI Keys to Success
Column published on August 2000 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The Wireless Warehouse
Column published on July 2000 in DM Review

I'm interested in knowing the elements/dimensions that would be required to build a customer data mart and marketing data mart for an e- commerce company.
Ask The Experts published on July 2000 in DM Review Online

What do you think are the most important criteria when selecting a data storage vendor?
Ask The Experts published on July 2000 in DM Review Online

What are the best practices when it comes to deciding between a mainframe and NT environment for a data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on July 2000 in DM Review Online

What is the best way to deal with currencies in a data warehouse for a worldwide organization that wishes to allow people to view their data in local, reporting currency?
Ask The Experts published on July 2000 in DM Review Online

We are a service organization that handles campaign-based response (calls, e-mail and e- forms).
Ask The Experts published on July 2000 in DM Review Online

Data Warehouse Delivery:
How to Federate
Column published on June 2000 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
When to Federate
Column published on May 2000 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Federated FAQs
Column published on April 2000 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Advance the Plot
Column published on March 2000 in DM Review

My company has finished the first phase of a data warehouse, with total size of about 100GB.
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

I am looking for a data mining solution and currently see SAS as being the leading provider.
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

We've built a 350GB data warehouse to house personnel records.
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

I'm now in the process of evaluating two proposals for a data warehousing project.
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

We are considering implementing an Oracle DB to consolidate a few older DB's (Sybase, SQL).
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

We are at the preliminary stages of designing a data mart/data warehouse for a large government organization.
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

I'm in the process of selecting client tools (DOLAP) for our Microsoft OLAP services-based data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

What benefits can a data warehouse implementation have in the insurance sector?
Ask The Experts published on March 2000 in DM Review Online

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Beware of Insularity
Column published on February 2000 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The Federated Future
Column published on January 2000 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The March of Progress
Column published on December 1999 in DM Review

Suppose data, such as prices, is kept in a text-file (non-ODBC) and other product data is kept in ODBC-databases and they need to be linked, what would be the best solution?
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

How valid is data warehousing for any manufacturing sector?
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

What technologies are available to allow my data warehouse to be updated
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

What is the progress of data warehousing in Asia?
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

There are certain fields in the warehouse that are of a sensitive nature (i.e. credit card numbers).
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

During the planning process of a data warehouse and BI solution, what elements will determine the choice of these 2 approaches:
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

We have just delivered our first data mart.
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

My organization has a huge reporting requirement based on data taken from mainframe reports on a daily basis.
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

I've read that one of the advantages of star schema over snowflake schema is that the end users understand its table structure better.
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

I'm working in a telephone company that is only three years old and still in a growing phase.
Ask The Experts published on December 1999 in DM Review Online

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Here They Come...
Column published on November 1999 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The Hidden Jewel
Column published on October 1999 in DM Review

Does Microsoft plan to release a client tool for its OLAP server, or do they let third-party vendors do the job with the intent to focus on the server side only?
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

What is the typical rate within data warehousing for promoting changes that effect transformation and data cleansing for existing subject areas that are in production?
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

What are the objectives that should be considered for a data warehousing strategy?
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

These days there is a lot of noise in the media about ERP vendors' DW strategies.
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

What criteria should be used to determine if an existing data mart should continue to exist?
Ask The Experts published on October 1999 in DM Review Online

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Where We're Going
Column published on September 1999 in DM Review

What are the reasons one would choose data warehousing over a relational design?
Ask The Experts published on August 1999 in DM Review Online

We are looking at the future architecture of our DW.
Ask The Experts published on August 1999 in DM Review Online

We are in the prototyping phase of our data warehouse.
Ask The Experts published on August 1999 in DM Review Online

What are the major differences between ROLAP and MOLAP?
Ask The Experts published on August 1999 in DM Review Online

A data warehouse is subject-oriented. Are there any rules to go about defining the subjects?
Ask The Experts published on August 1999 in DM Review Online

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Analytical Applications Defined
Column published on July 1999 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The Gift of the Amish
Column published on June 1999 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Market of Millions
Column published on May 1999 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Great Expectations
Column published on April 1999 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Feel Ain't Real
Column published on March 1999 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Parenthood
Column published on February 1999 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
How about 0% ROI?
Column published on January 1999 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The Bull's-Eye
Column published on December 1998 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Be Process Driven, Not Data Driven
Column published on November 1998 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Lessons from Down Under
Column published on October 1998 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
De-Coddify Your Brains
Column published on September 1998 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Houston, We Have a Problem
Column published on June 1998 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Tomorrowland
Column published on May 1998 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Who Are You? Part 2
Column published on April 1998 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Who Are You? Part I
Column published on February 1998 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
The Phases of Data Warehousing
Column published on January 1998 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery Maintenance:
The Secret
Column published on December 1997 in DM Review

Data Warehouse Delivery:
Maintenance: The Forgotten Challenge
Column published on November 1997 in DM Review



Advertisement
advertisement
Site Map Terms of Use Privacy Policy
SourceMedia (c) 2006 DM Review and SourceMedia, Inc. All rights reserved.
SourceMedia is an Investcorp company.
Use, duplication, or sale of this service, or data contained herein, is strictly prohibited.